Project

General

Profile

12312013 - Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56658 (starting evening of Dec 31, 2013)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager Assistant Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
James Etherington Ting Li Philip Rooney
ext. 521 ext. 512 ext. 520

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Hernan Manuel

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56658, date 20131231, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 11:08 CLST     UT 14:08     SidTim 16:07
Sunset     20:56 CLST  23:56 UT   SidTim   29 deg  
Eve. -10   21:36 CLST  00:36 UT   SidTim   39 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:59 CLST  00:59 UT   SidTim   44 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:23 CLST  01:23 UT   SidTim   50 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:46 CLST  04:46 UT   SidTim  101 deg  
Morn -18   05:09 CLST  08:09 UT   SidTim  152 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:33 CLST  08:33 UT   SidTim  158 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:56 CLST  08:56 UT   SidTim  164 deg  
Sunrise    06:37 CLST  09:37 UT   SidTim  174 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 277.3, Dec -18.1 Phase: 0.046

Weather Conditions

Conditions look nice at the moment for tonight. No clouds overhead here.
http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. Zeropoint check - preceed with zeros script: flush_Vsub.json
  3. Start of night standards (scripts listed below)
  4. Nightly out of focus image (right after last standard, no break) - script to use: defocus_nightly.json
  5. ObsTac
  6. End of night standards (scripts listed below)
  7. End of night calibrations - if good afternoon calibrations use postnight_calibration.json, otherwise use postnight_zeros_flats.json
  1. Will fill in below after midday

Start of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2014/01/01 00:36' Local time = 21:36
SDSSJ2300-0000 ra 23:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 2.0 DES_std_SDSSJ2300_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0000-0000 ra 00:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.5 DES_std_SDSSJ0000_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0200-0000 ra 02:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_SDSSJ0200_Yzirg.json

End of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2013/12/31 08:33' Local time = 05:33
SDSSJ1227-0000 ra 12:27:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.3 DES_std_sdssj1227_grizY.json
SDSSJ1048-0000 ra 10:48:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_sdssj1048_grizY.json