Project

General

Profile

12302017 » History » Version 2

« Previous - Version 2/3 (diff) - Next » - Current version
Francisco Paz-Chinchon, 12/30/2017 05:06 PM


12302017

First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Alfredo Zenteno (Observer1)
  • Francisco Paz Chinchon (Observer2, Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Manuel Hernández - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - TelOps

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:55 CLST  23:55 UT   01:51   28 deg
Eve. -10   21:36 CLST  00:36 UT   02:31   38 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:59 CLST  00:59 UT   02:54   44 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:23 CLST  01:23 UT   03:18   50 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:46 CLST  04:46 UT   06:41  100 deg
Morn -18   05:08 CLST  08:08 UT   10:04  151 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Moonset    05:15 CLST  08:15 UT   10:10  152 deg
Morn -14   05:33 CLST  08:33 UT   10:28  157 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:56 CLST  08:56 UT   10:51  163 deg
Sunrise    06:36 CLST  09:36 UT   11:32  173 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 71.3, Dec 18.5 Phase: 0.828

Weather Conditions

  • at 4pm: Low clouds (stratocumulus) above the Andes. Otherwise clear. Low density mist when looking at Alt ~0 deg.

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • At 22:00
  • clouds: Clear
  • humidity: ~70%
  • temp: ~14°C
  • wind: Calm, 0 mph, from west

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
  • low-z SN 2017iuw
  • SN field X3i, X3z by ObsTac
  • ObsTac - wide field
  • Midpoint standards (ugrizY)

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards (Use "standards 00:36" in kentools)
UT Date = '2017/12/31 00:36'     Local time = 21:36
SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • 1 Midpoint standards (Use "standards 04:39" in kentools)
UT Date = '2017/12/31 04:39'     Local time = 01:39
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name     seqtype     last_complete
SN-X3    long_i    2017-12-21 01:49:21.101489+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2017-12-21 02:23:26.160051+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2017-12-25 01:24:03.051975+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2017-12-25 01:47:06.535815+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2017-12-25 04:19:32.694391+00:00
SN-X1    short    2017-12-26 01:11:15.363099+00:00
SN-X2    short    2017-12-26 01:30:49.951162+00:00
SN-S1    short    2017-12-26 01:50:40.364806+00:00
SN-S2    short    2017-12-26 02:10:11.560139+00:00
SN-E1    short    2017-12-30 01:02:30.850734+00:00
SN-E2    short    2017-12-30 01:21:56.466572+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2017-12-30 01:43:49.731875+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2017-12-30 02:51:29.039902+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2017-12-30 03:15:17.771136+00:00
SN-C1    short    2017-12-30 03:49:16.501812+00:00
SN-C2    short    2017-12-30 04:08:35.732679+00:00 

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps