Project

General

Profile

12292018

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58482 (starting the evening of Dec 29, 2018)

Observers

  • Antonino Troja (Observer 1)
  • Alexandra Amon (Observer 2)
  • Ting Li (Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

Almanac

from kentools ephem

mjd 58482, date 20181229, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:50 CLST     UT 18:50     SidTim 20:40
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:55 CLST  23:55 UT   01:45   26 deg  
Eve. -10   21:36 CLST  00:36 UT   02:26   36 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:59 CLST  00:59 UT   02:49   42 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:23 CLST  01:23 UT   03:13   48 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:45 CLST  04:45 UT   06:36   99 deg  
Moonrise   02:21 CLST  05:21 UT   07:11  108 deg  
Morn -18   05:07 CLST  08:07 UT   09:58  150 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:32 CLST  08:32 UT   10:22  156 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:55 CLST  08:55 UT   10:45  161 deg  
Sunrise    06:35 CLST  09:35 UT   11:26  172 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 199.9, Dec -1.9 Phase: 0.457

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan

  • DES Half night
  • Evening standards
    UT Date = '2018/12/30 00:36'     Local time = 21:36
    SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
    SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • run obstac
  • at 2.00 UT (if i-band seeing < 1.1"), load these scripts:
    • MACSJ0416_g_2.json
    • MACSJ0416_u_2.json
    • MACSJ0416_r_1.json
    • scripts are located at /usr/remote/user/DECamObserver/ExposureScripts/DES_script/
  • if seeing > 1.6", run the narrow-band script SN-E2-N964.json (sets at 2:52 UT so have to finish before this time)
  • run obstac
  • One Midpoint standards
    UT Date = '2018/12/30 04:41'     Local time = 01:41
    MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1
    

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting