Project

General

Profile

12292017

First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Francisco Paz Chinchon (Observer1)
  • Alfredo Zenteno (Observer2, Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Manuel Hernández - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - TelOps

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:55 CLST  23:55 UT   01:46   26 deg  
Eve. -10   21:36 CLST  00:36 UT   02:27   37 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:59 CLST  00:59 UT   02:50   42 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:23 CLST  01:23 UT   03:14   48 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:45 CLST  04:45 UT   06:37   99 deg  
Moonset    04:23 CLST  07:23 UT   09:14  138 deg  
Morn -18   05:08 CLST  08:08 UT   09:59  150 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:32 CLST  08:32 UT   10:23  156 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:55 CLST  08:55 UT   10:46  162 deg  
Sunrise    06:36 CLST  09:36 UT   11:27  172 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 56.0, Dec 15.3 Phase: 0.749

Weather Conditions

  • at 4pm: Some clouds over the Andes, clear otherwise.

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • At 22:00
  • clouds: Clear
  • humidity: ~ 66%
  • temp: ~ 13°C
  • wind: Calm, 0 mph

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
  • SN field E1, E2, C3z, C3r, C3i, C1, C2
  • ObsTac - wide field
  • Midpoint standards (grizY)

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards (Use "standards 00:35" in kentools)
UT Date = '2017/12/30 00:35'     Local time = 21:35
SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
  • 1 Midpoint standards (Use "standards 04:35" in kentools)
UT Date = '2017/12/30 04:45'     Local time = 01:45
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name     seqtype     last_complete
SN-E1  short  2017-12-20 02:04:41.189709+00:00  
SN-E2  short  2017-12-20 02:24:06.718871+00:00  
SN-C3  long_z  2017-12-20 03:35:09.199089+00:00  
SN-C1  short  2017-12-21 01:08:45.371532+00:00  
SN-C2  short  2017-12-21 01:28:16.205326+00:00  
SN-X3  long_i  2017-12-21 01:49:21.101489+00:00  
SN-X3  long_z  2017-12-21 02:23:26.160051+00:00  
SN-C3  long_r  2017-12-21 03:59:45.168663+00:00  
SN-C3  long_i  2017-12-21 04:22:57.912200+00:00  
SN-X3  long_r  2017-12-25 01:24:03.051975+00:00  
SN-X3  long_g  2017-12-25 01:47:06.535815+00:00  
SN-C3  long_g  2017-12-25 04:19:32.694391+00:00  
SN-X1  short  2017-12-26 01:11:15.363099+00:00  
SN-X2  short  2017-12-26 01:30:49.951162+00:00  
SN-S1  short  2017-12-26 01:50:40.364806+00:00  
SN-S2  short  2017-12-26 02:10:11.560139+00:00  

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps