Project

General

Profile

12282016 » History » Version 7

Version 6 (Douglas Tucker, 12/28/2016 01:48 PM) → Version 7/8 (Douglas Tucker, 12/28/2016 06:05 PM)

h1. 12282016

h2. Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57751 (starting evening of Dec 28, 2016)

Half night

h3. Observers

* Douglas Tucker (Obs 1, RM)
* Sahar Allam (Obs 2)



h3. CTIO Staff

* Manuel Hernandez - Manuel- Obs. Support
* Claudio Aguilera - Operator
* "Staff calendar":http://www.ctio.noao.edu/cgi-bin/Calcium38.pl?Op=ShowIt&CalendarName=4m_Observing_Schedule



h3. Almanac

<pre>
mjd 57751, date 20161228, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:52 CLST UT 18:52 SidTim 20:41
Sunset 20:55 CLST 23:55 UT SidTim 26 deg
Eve. -10 21:36 CLST 00:36 UT SidTim 36 deg Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14 21:59 CLST 00:59 UT SidTim 42 deg Begin obstac
Eve. -18 22:23 CLST 01:23 UT SidTim 48 deg Last chance standards

Start standards at 04:35 UT

Midpoint 01:45 CLST 04:45 UT SidTim 98 deg TURNOVER
Morn -18 05:07 CLST 08:07 UT SidTim 149 deg Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std 05:31 CLST 08:31 UT SidTim 155 deg End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10 05:54 CLST 08:54 UT SidTim 161 deg
Sunrise 06:35 CLST 09:35 UT SidTim 171 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 277.3, Dec -18.3 Phase: 0.025
</pre>

h3. Weather Conditions

* Clear in the afternoon.
* "Detailed hourly forecast":http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html | "Satellite maps":http://139.229.115.231/web/world_sat.php

h3. Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

* Evening standards (using calspec): Yzrig

<pre>
UT Date = '2016/12/29 00:36' Local time = 21:36
SDSSJ2300-0000 ra 23:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.8
Feige110_CCD_52 ra 23:19:58 dec -05:04:57 secz 1.6
SDSSJ0200-0000 ra 02:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2
</pre>

* Obstac (wide field)

* Half Night standards (using calspec) use only 1 (highest airmass): grizY

<pre>
UT Date = '2016/12/29 04:45' Local time = 01:45
SDSSJ0958-0010 ra 09:58:00 dec -00:10:00 secz 1.8
SDSSJ0933-0005 ra 09:33:00 dec -00:05:00 secz 1.6
MaxVis ra 06:30:00 dec -58:45:00 secz 1.1
</pre>

h3. When were the last SN fields observed?

<pre>
hex_name seqtype last_complete
(To be filled in)
</pre>

h3. Notes from 4pm meeting

* For first-half observers, be sure to fill in the CTIO night report and leave it open for the second-half observers.
* For either first- or second-half observers: try not to "zap" any windows on the observer2 console that would be useful for the program running in the other half.
* Sultan-of-seeing predicts poor seeing for tonight.