Project

General

Profile

12272018

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58480 (starting the evening of Dec 27, 2018)

Observers
  • Alexandra Amon (Observer 1)
  • Antonino Troja (Observer 2)
  • Ting Li (Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

Almanac

from kentools ephem

mjd 58480, date 20181227, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:27 CLST     UT 18:27     SidTim 20:09
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:54 CLST  23:54 UT   01:37   24 deg  
Eve. -10   21:35 CLST  00:35 UT   02:18   34 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:58 CLST  00:58 UT   02:41   40 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:23 CLST  01:23 UT   03:05   46 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   01:07 CLST  04:07 UT   05:50   88 deg  
Midpoint   01:44 CLST  04:44 UT   06:27   97 deg  
Morn -18   05:06 CLST  08:06 UT   09:48  147 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:30 CLST  08:30 UT   10:13  153 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:53 CLST  08:53 UT   10:36  159 deg  
Sunrise    06:34 CLST  09:34 UT   11:17  169 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 174.1, Dec 8.1 Phase: 0.587

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan

  • DES Half night
  • Evening standards
    UT Date = '2018/12/28 00:35'     Local time = 21:35
    SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
    SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • 01:00 UT MACSJ0416_r_1.json (only taken if seeing less than 1.1" in i-band)
    • scripts are located at /usr/remote/user/DECamObserver/ExposureScripts/DES_script/
  • obstac
  • 3:30 UT MACSJ0416_z_1.json (only taken if seeing less than 1.1" in i-band)
  • obstac again if there are more time
  • if seeing is worse than 1.6", run the narrow-band script SN-E2-N964.json (sets at 2:52 UT so have to finish before this time)
  • One Midpoint standards
    UT Date = '2018/12/28 04:40'     Local time = 01:40
    MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1
    

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

  • 804500, 804843, 804847 are bad and are applied.