Project

General

Profile

12272013 - Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56654 (starting evening of Dec 27, 2013)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager Assistant Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
David James Ting Li Philip Rooney
ext. 513 ext. 512 ext. 520

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Hernan Claudio

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56654, date 20131227, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 11:13 CLST     UT 14:13     SidTim 15:56
Sunset     20:54 CLST  23:54 UT   SidTim   24 deg  
Eve. -10   21:35 CLST  00:35 UT   SidTim   35 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:58 CLST  00:58 UT   SidTim   40 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:23 CLST  01:23 UT   SidTim   46 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:44 CLST  04:44 UT   SidTim   97 deg  
Moonrise   03:10 CLST  06:10 UT   SidTim  118 deg  
Morn -18   05:06 CLST  08:06 UT   SidTim  147 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:30 CLST  08:30 UT   SidTim  154 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:53 CLST  08:53 UT   SidTim  159 deg  
Sunrise    06:34 CLST  09:34 UT   SidTim  170 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 216.8, Dec -13.5 Phase: 0.354

Weather Conditions

Sky looks pretty clear on the map and pretty clear overhead.
http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. Zeropoint check - preceed with zeros script: flush_Vsub.json
  3. Start of night standards (scripts listed below)
  4. Nightly out of focus image (right after last standard, no break) - script to use: defocus_nightly.json
  5. ObsTac
  6. End of night standards (scripts listed below)
  7. End of night calibrations - if good afternoon calibrations use postnight_calibration.json, otherwise use postnight_zeros_flats.json
  1. Will do this after midday - DONE

Start of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2013/12/27 00:35' Local time = 21:35
SDSSJ2300-0000 ra 23:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.8 DES_std_SDSSJ2300_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0000-0000 ra 00:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.4 DES_std_SDSSJ0000_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0200-0000 ra 02:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_SDSSJ0200_Yzirg.json

End of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2013/12/27 08:30' Local time = 05:30
E6-A ra 14:45:33 dec -45:15:34 secz 1.7 DES_std_e6a_grizY.json
SDSSJ1227-0000 ra 12:27:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.4 DES_std_sdssj1227_grizY.json
SDSSJ0958-0010 ra 09:58:00 dec -00:10:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_sdssj0958_grizY.json