Project

General

Profile

12252017

First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Ting Li (Observer1, Run Manager)
  • Francisco Paz Chinchon (Observer2)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Manuel Hernández - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - TelOps

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58113, date 20171225, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:32 CLST     UT 18:32     SidTim 20:07
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:54 CLST  23:54 UT   01:29   22 deg
Eve. -10   21:35 CLST  00:35 UT   02:10   32 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:58 CLST  00:58 UT   02:33   38 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:22 CLST  01:22 UT   02:57   44 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    01:43 CLST  04:43 UT   06:18   94 deg
Midpoint   01:43 CLST  04:43 UT   06:19   95 deg
Morn -18   05:05 CLST  08:05 UT   09:40  145 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:29 CLST  08:29 UT   10:05  151 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:52 CLST  08:52 UT   10:28  157 deg
Sunrise    06:33 CLST  09:33 UT   11:09  167 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 2.8, Dec -2.1 Phase: 0.478

Weather Conditions

  • at 4pm: No clouds

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: Clear
  • humidity: ~ 38%
  • temp: ~ 19.2°C
  • wind: 11.0 mph

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
  • SN field X1, X2, S1, S2
  • ObsTac - wide field
  • Midpoint standards (grizY)

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards
UT Date = '2017/12/26 00:35'     Local time = 21:35
E3-A                  ra 06:42:54  dec -45:05:06  secz 1.7
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.6
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • 1 Midpoint standards
UT Date = '2017/12/26 04:36'     Local time = 01:36
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name     seqtype     last_complete
SN-E1    short    2017-12-20 02:04:41.189709+00:00
SN-E2    short    2017-12-20 02:24:06.718871+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2017-12-20 03:35:09.199089+00:00
SN-C1    short    2017-12-21 01:08:45.371532+00:00
SN-C2    short    2017-12-21 01:28:16.205326+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2017-12-21 01:49:21.101489+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2017-12-21 02:23:26.160051+00:00
SN-S1    short    2017-12-21 03:39:12.401883+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2017-12-21 03:59:45.168663+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2017-12-21 04:22:57.912200+00:00
SN-X1    short    2017-12-22 01:01:27.373314+00:00
SN-X2    short    2017-12-22 01:20:51.281942+00:00
SN-S2    short    2017-12-22 01:40:25.032439+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2017-12-25 01:24:03.051975+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2017-12-25 01:47:06.535815+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2017-12-25 04:19:32.694391+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps