Project

General

Profile

12242017 » History » Version 2

« Previous - Version 2/3 (diff) - Next » - Current version
Ting Li, 12/24/2017 03:13 PM


12242017

First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Francisco Paz Chinchon (Observer1)
  • Ting Li (Observer2, Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - TelOps

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58112, date 20171224, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:09 CLST     UT 18:09     SidTim 19:40
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:53 CLST  23:53 UT   01:25   21 deg
Eve. -10   21:34 CLST  00:34 UT   02:06   32 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:57 CLST  00:57 UT   02:29   37 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:22 CLST  01:22 UT   02:53   43 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    01:08 CLST  04:08 UT   05:39   85 deg
Midpoint   01:43 CLST  04:43 UT   06:14   94 deg
Morn -18   05:04 CLST  08:04 UT   09:36  144 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:28 CLST  08:28 UT   10:00  150 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:52 CLST  08:52 UT   10:23  156 deg
Sunrise    06:32 CLST  09:32 UT   11:04  166 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 350.7, Dec -6.3 Phase: 0.417

Weather Conditions

  • at 4pm: No clouds

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: Clear
  • humidity: ~ 38%
  • temp: ~ 20.9°C
  • wind: 6.2 mph

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
  • low-z SN 2017iuw
  • SN field X3r, X3g
  • ObsTac - wide field
  • SN field C3g 30 min before switch over
  • Midpoint standards (grizY)

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards
UT Date = '2017/12/25 00:34'     Local time = 21:34
E3-A                  ra 06:42:54  dec -45:05:06  secz 1.7
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.6
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • 1 Midpoint standards
UT Date = '2017/12/25 04:35'     Local time = 01:35
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-E1    short    2017-12-20 02:04:41.189709+00:00
SN-E2    short    2017-12-20 02:24:06.718871+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2017-12-20 02:45:04.583121+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2017-12-20 02:58:00.092089+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2017-12-20 03:21:53.580027+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2017-12-20 03:35:09.199089+00:00
SN-C1    short    2017-12-21 01:08:45.371532+00:00
SN-C2    short    2017-12-21 01:28:16.205326+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2017-12-21 01:49:21.101489+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2017-12-21 02:23:26.160051+00:00
SN-S1    short    2017-12-21 03:39:12.401883+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2017-12-21 03:59:45.168663+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2017-12-21 04:22:57.912200+00:00
SN-X1    short    2017-12-22 01:01:27.373314+00:00
SN-X2    short    2017-12-22 01:20:51.281942+00:00
SN-S2    short    2017-12-22 01:40:25.032439+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps