Project

General

Profile

12242014

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57016 (starting evening of Dec 24, 2014)

Observers

  • Douglas Tucker (observer1)
  • Sahar Allam (observer2)
  • Rutuparna Das (run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Alberto Alvarez
  • Hernan Tirado

Extra helpers

  • Dancer, Prancer, and Comet
  • SNOW (The Sleigh eNergy Optimization Workforce) has found a way for Santa to complete his rounds even if fewer reindeer are available. Santa's funding situation is pretty constant though (due to all the public outreach he does), which means that the only repercussion of this finding is that the reindeer get further benefits and more PTO. And so, these three have graciously agreed to accompany us tonight and keep the seeing levels at bay (they have had a lot of experience manipulating atmospheric turbulence while running the sleigh). Comet has been especially excited, as running around the Blanco makes his tail glow.

Almanac
Sunset     20:53 CLST  23:53 UT   SidTim   21 deg  
Eve. -10   21:34 CLST  00:34 UT   SidTim   31 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:57 CLST  00:57 UT   SidTim   37 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:22 CLST  01:22 UT   SidTim   43 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    22:58 CLST  01:58 UT   SidTim   52 deg  
Midpoint   01:43 CLST  04:43 UT   SidTim   93 deg  
Morn -18   05:04 CLST  08:04 UT   SidTim  144 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:28 CLST  08:28 UT   SidTim  150 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:51 CLST  08:51 UT   SidTim  156 deg  
Sunrise    06:32 CLST  09:32 UT   SidTim  166 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 316.3, Dec -11.3 Phase: 0.222

Weather Conditions

Clear, with a chance of glowing red noses.

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

ObsTac

Capture a sleigh trail in our images (preferably in multiple bands, so we can make a coadd).