Project

General

Profile

12232013 - Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56650 (starting evening of Dec 23, 2013)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager Assistant Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Ting Li ASmith Phillip Rooney
ext. 513 ext. 512 ext. 520

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56650, date 20131223, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 10:19 CLST     UT 13:19     SidTim 14:47
Sunset     20:53 CLST  23:53 UT   SidTim   20 deg  
Eve. -10   21:34 CLST  00:34 UT   SidTim   30 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:57 CLST  00:57 UT   SidTim   36 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:21 CLST  01:21 UT   SidTim   42 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   00:40 CLST  03:40 UT   SidTim   77 deg  
Midpoint   01:42 CLST  04:42 UT   SidTim   92 deg  
Morn -18   05:04 CLST  08:04 UT   SidTim  143 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:28 CLST  08:28 UT   SidTim  149 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:51 CLST  08:51 UT   SidTim  154 deg  
Sunrise    06:32 CLST  09:32 UT   SidTim  165 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 167.1, Dec 2.1 Phase: 0.600

Weather Conditions

Some sparse clouds on map, clear here overhead. Expect fine conditions tonight.
http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. Zeropoint check - preceed with zeros script: flush_Vsub.json
  3. Start of night standards (scripts listed below)
  4. Nightly out of focus image (right after last standard, no break) - script to use: defocus_nightly.json
  5. ObsTac
  6. End of night standards (scripts listed below)
  7. End of night calibrations - if good afternoon calibrations use postnight_calibration.json, otherwise use postnight_zeros_flats.json

Start of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2013/12/24 00:34' Local time = 21:34
MaxVis ra 06:30:00 dec -58:45:00 secz 1.7 DES_std_maxvis_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0200-0000 ra 02:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_sdssj0200_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ2300-0000 ra 23:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.6 DES_std_sdssj2300_Yzirg.json

End of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2013/12/24 08:28' Local time = 05:28
E6-A ra 14:45:33 dec -45:15:34 secz 1.8 DES_std_e6a_grizY.json
SDSSJ1227-0000 ra 12:27:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.5 DES_std_sdssj1227_grizY.json
SDSSJ0958-0010 ra 09:58:00 dec -00:10:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_sdssj0958_grizY.json