Project

General

Profile

12262013 - Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56653 (starting evening of Dec 26, 2013)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager Assistant Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Ting Li David James Philip Rooney
ext. 513 ext. 512 ext. 520

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56653, date 20131226, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 10:34 CLST     UT 13:34     SidTim 15:14
Sunset     20:54 CLST  23:54 UT   SidTim   23 deg  
Eve. -10   21:35 CLST  00:35 UT   SidTim   34 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:58 CLST  00:58 UT   SidTim   39 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:22 CLST  01:22 UT   SidTim   46 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:44 CLST  04:44 UT   SidTim   96 deg  
Moonrise   02:28 CLST  05:28 UT   SidTim  107 deg  
Morn -18   05:05 CLST  08:05 UT   SidTim  146 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:30 CLST  08:30 UT   SidTim  152 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:53 CLST  08:53 UT   SidTim  158 deg  
Sunrise    06:34 CLST  09:34 UT   SidTim  168 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 203.5, Dec -10.0 Phase: 0.420

Weather Conditions

Some sparse clouds on map, clear here overhead. Expect fine conditions tonight.
http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. Gary Bernsteins flat dome allignment test
  3. Zeropoint check - preceed with zeros script: flush_Vsub.json
  4. Start of night standards (scripts listed below)
  5. Nightly out of focus image (right after last standard, no break) - script to use: defocus_nightly.json
  6. ObsTac
  7. End of night standards (scripts listed below)
  8. End of night calibrations - if good afternoon calibrations use postnight_calibration.json, otherwise use postnight_zeros_flats.json
  1. Will do this after midday

Start of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2013/12/24 00:34' Local time = 21:34
MaxVis ra 06:30:00 dec -58:45:00 secz 1.7 DES_std_maxvis_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0200-0000 ra 02:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_sdssj0200_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ2300-0000 ra 23:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.6 DES_std_sdssj2300_Yzirg.json

End of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2013/12/24 08:28' Local time = 05:28
E6-A ra 14:45:33 dec -45:15:34 secz 1.8 DES_std_e6a_grizY.json
SDSSJ1227-0000 ra 12:27:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.5 DES_std_sdssj1227_grizY.json
SDSSJ0958-0010 ra 09:58:00 dec -00:10:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_sdssj0958_grizY.json