Project

General

Profile

12222013 - Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56649 (starting evening of Dec 22, 2013)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager Assistant Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Ti Li ASmith Lyndsay Old Phillip Rooney
ext. 513 ext. 512 ext. 516 ext. 520

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Manual Hernandez Alberto Alvarez

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56649, date 20131222, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 10:50 CLST     UT 13:50     SidTim 15:13
Sunset     20:52 CLST  23:52 UT   SidTim   19 deg  
Eve. -10   21:33 CLST  00:33 UT   SidTim   29 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:57 CLST  00:57 UT   SidTim   35 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:21 CLST  01:21 UT   SidTim   41 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   00:06 CLST  03:06 UT   SidTim   68 deg  
Midpoint   01:42 CLST  04:42 UT   SidTim   91 deg  
Morn -18   05:03 CLST  08:03 UT   SidTim  142 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:27 CLST  08:27 UT   SidTim  148 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:50 CLST  08:50 UT   SidTim  154 deg  
Sunrise    06:31 CLST  09:31 UT   SidTim  164 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 155.6, Dec 6.1 Phase: 0.657

Weather Conditions

Some sparse clouds on map, clear here overhead. Expect fine conditions tonight.
http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. Zeropoint check - preceed with zeros script: flush_Vsub.json
  3. Start of night standards (scripts listed below)
  4. Nightly out of focus image (right after last standard, no break) - script to use: defocus_nightly.json
  5. ObsTac
  6. End of night standards (scripts listed below)
  7. End of night calibrations - if good afternoon calibrations use postnight_calibration.json, otherwise use postnight_zeros_flats.json
  1. REMEMBER TO CHANGE
    Start of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
    UT Date = '2013/12/22 00:33' Local time = 21:33
    MaxVis ra 06:30:00 dec -58:45:00 secz 1.7 DES_std_maxvis_Yzirg.json
    SDSSJ0200-0000 ra 02:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_sdssj0200_Yzirg.json
    SDSSJ2300-0000 ra 23:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.6 DES_std_sdssj2300_Yzirg.json

End of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2013/12/22 08:27' Local time = 05:27
E6-A ra 14:45:33 dec -45:15:34 secz 2.0 DES_std_e6a_grizY.json
SDSSJ1227-0000 ra 12:27:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.6 DES_std_sdssj1227_grizY.json
SDSSJ0843-0000 ra 08:43:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_sdssj0843_grizY.json