Project

General

Profile

12212017

First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Raffaella Capasso (Observer1)
  • Ting Li (Run manager, Observer2)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - TelOps

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58109, date 20171221, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:05 CLST     UT 18:05     SidTim 19:25
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:52 CLST  23:52 UT   01:12   18 deg
Eve. -10   21:33 CLST  00:33 UT   01:53   28 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:56 CLST  00:56 UT   02:16   34 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:20 CLST  01:20 UT   02:40   40 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    23:16 CLST  02:16 UT   03:35   54 deg
Midpoint   01:41 CLST  04:41 UT   06:01   90 deg
Morn -18   05:02 CLST  08:02 UT   09:22  140 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:27 CLST  08:27 UT   09:46  146 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:50 CLST  08:50 UT   10:10  152 deg
Sunrise    06:31 CLST  09:31 UT   10:51  163 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 314.8, Dec -16.1 Phase: 0.232

Weather Conditions

  • at 4pm: No clouds

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: Clear
  • humidity: ~ 52%
  • temp: ~ 15°C
  • wind: 7 mph

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
  • ObsTac - SN and wide field
    *WD0308-565/HST at 11 pm CLT
  • Midpoint standards (grizY)
  • Need to hand over 22 min before midpoint

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards
UT Date = '2017/12/22 00:33'     Local time = 21:33
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.7
SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • 1 Midpoint standards
UT Date = '2017/12/22 04:11'     Local time = 01:11
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-X1    short    2017-12-14 01:02:44.960257+00:00
SN-X2    short    2017-12-15 00:58:22.783296+00:00
SN-S2    short    2017-12-15 01:18:02.241640+00:00
SN-E1    short    2017-12-20 02:04:41.189709+00:00
SN-E2    short    2017-12-20 02:24:06.718871+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2017-12-20 02:45:04.583121+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2017-12-20 02:58:00.092089+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2017-12-20 03:21:53.580027+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2017-12-20 03:35:09.199089+00:00
SN-C1    short    2017-12-21 01:08:45.371532+00:00
SN-C2    short    2017-12-21 01:28:16.205326+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2017-12-21 01:49:21.101489+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2017-12-21 02:23:26.160051+00:00
SN-S1    short    2017-12-21 03:39:12.401883+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2017-12-21 03:59:45.168663+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2017-12-21 04:22:57.912200+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps