Project

General

Profile

20161220

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57743 (starting evening of Dec 20, 2016)

Full night

Observers

  • Dillon Brout (Run Manager)
  • Martin Murphy (Obs 1)
  • J. Allyn Smith (Obs 2)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - Operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac


mjd 57743, date 20161220, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 16:16 CLST     UT 19:16     SidTim 20:33
Sunset     20:52 CLST  23:52 UT   SidTim   17 deg  
Eve. -10   21:33 CLST  00:33 UT   SidTim   27 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:56 CLST  00:56 UT   SidTim   33 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:20 CLST  01:20 UT   SidTim   39 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:41 CLST  04:41 UT   SidTim   90 deg -- turn over to 2nd half program 
Moonrise   01:54 CLST  04:54 UT   SidTim   93 deg  
Morn -18   05:02 CLST  08:02 UT   SidTim  140 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:26 CLST  08:26 UT   SidTim  146 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:49 CLST  08:49 UT   SidTim  152 deg  
Sunrise    06:30 CLST  09:30 UT   SidTim  162 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 182.6, Dec 2.0 Phase: 0.498

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (using calspec):
UT Date = '2016/12/20 00:32'     Local time = 21:32
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.7
WD0308-565_CCD_52     ra 03:09:48  dec -56:18:49  secz 1.2
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Obstac (Mostly wide field)
  • Midpoint standards (using calspec):
UT Date = '2016/12/21 04:30'     Local time = 01:30
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.1
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.1

Notes from the 4pm meeting

Tuesday is the traditional day for a focus sequence.