Project

General

Profile

12192017

First-half night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Raffaella Capasso (Observer1)
  • Ting Li (Run manager, Observer2)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - TelOps

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58107, date 20171219, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:10 CLST     UT 18:10     SidTim 19:22
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:51 CLST  23:51 UT   01:03   16 deg
Eve. -10   21:32 CLST  00:32 UT   01:44   26 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Moonset    21:49 CLST  00:49 UT   02:01   30 deg
Eve. -14   21:55 CLST  00:55 UT   02:07   32 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:19 CLST  01:19 UT   02:31   38 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:40 CLST  04:40 UT   05:52   88 deg
Morn -18   05:01 CLST  08:01 UT   09:13  138 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:26 CLST  08:26 UT   09:38  144 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:49 CLST  08:49 UT   10:01  150 deg
Sunrise    06:30 CLST  09:30 UT   10:42  160 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 290.2, Dec -19.1 Phase: 0.106

Weather Conditions

  • at 4pm: No clouds

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: Clear
  • humidity: ~ 40%
  • temp: ~ 20°C

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
  • Lowz 2017iuw (use lowz_2017iuw_dec15.json)
  • ObsTac - SN fields (8 on deadman)
  • WD0308-565/HST (use WD0308-565_Dark.json)
  • ObsTac - wide field (griz)
  • Midpoint standards (ugrizY)

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • 3 Evening standards
UT Date = '2017/12/20 00:32'     Local time = 21:32
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.7
SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • 1 Midpoint standards
UT Date = '2017/12/20 04:30'     Local time = 01:30
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-C3    long_z    2017-12-12 00:55:31.827416+00:00
SN-C1    short    2017-12-12 02:02:47.703129+00:00
SN-E1    short    2017-12-12 02:24:33.974049+00:00
SN-E2    short    2017-12-12 03:27:18.711469+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2017-12-12 03:48:23.357279+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2017-12-12 04:01:24.130990+00:00
SN-C2    short    2017-12-12 04:25:23.667866+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2017-12-12 04:44:48.616039+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2017-12-13 00:54:59.634270+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2017-12-13 01:29:00.182835+00:00
SN-S1    short    2017-12-13 02:41:12.924692+00:00
SN-X1    short    2017-12-14 01:02:44.960257+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2017-12-14 04:50:42.947955+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2017-12-14 05:13:57.627847+00:00
SN-X2    short    2017-12-15 00:58:22.783296+00:00
SN-S2    short    2017-12-15 01:18:02.241640+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps