Project

General

Profile

12182013 Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56645 (starting evening of Dec 18, 2013)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager Assistant Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Ti Li ASmith Lyndsay Old Head
ext. 513 ext. 512 ext. 516 ext. 514

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Hernan Tirado Claudio Aguilera

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56645, date 20131218, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 09:51 CLST     UT 12:51     SidTim 13:58
Sunset     20:50 CLST  23:50 UT   SidTim   14 deg  
Eve. -10   21:31 CLST  00:31 UT   SidTim   25 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Moonrise   21:38 CLST  00:38 UT   SidTim   26 deg  
Eve. -14   21:54 CLST  00:54 UT   SidTim   30 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:19 CLST  01:19 UT   SidTim   37 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:40 CLST  04:40 UT   SidTim   87 deg  
Morn -18   05:01 CLST  08:01 UT   SidTim  137 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:25 CLST  08:25 UT   SidTim  143 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:48 CLST  08:48 UT   SidTim  149 deg  
Sunrise    06:29 CLST  09:29 UT   SidTim  159 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 108.2, Dec 18.2 Phase: 0.893

Weather Conditions

Should be a clear night
http://www.meteoblue.com/en_US/weather/forecast/week/observatorio-astronomico-cerro-tololo_cl_6503
http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. Zeropoint check - preceed with zeros script: flush_Vsub.json
  3. Start of night standards (scripts listed below)
  4. Nightly out of focus image (right after last standard, no break) - script to use: defocus_nightly.json
  5. ObsTac
  6. End of night standards (scripts listed below)
  7. End of night calibrations - if good afternoon calibrations use postnight_calibration.json, otherwise use postnight_zeros_flats.json

Start of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2013/12/19 00:31' Local time = 21:31
MaxVis ra 06:30:00 dec -58:45:00 secz 1.8 DES_std_maxvis_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ2300-0000 ra 23:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.5 DES_std_sdssj2300_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0200-0000 ra 02:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_sdssj0200_Yzirg.json

End of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2013/12/19 08:25' Local time = 05:25
E6-A ra 14:45:33 dec -45:15:34 secz 2.1 DES_std_e6a_grizY.json
SDSSJ1227-0000 ra 12:27:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.6 DES_std_sdss1227_grizY.json
SDSSJ0933-0005 ra 09:33:00 dec -00:05:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_sdssj0933_grizY.json