Project

General

Profile

12162016

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57739 (starting evening of Dec 16, 2016)

Full night

Observers

  • Ann Elliott (Run Manager)
  • Martin Murphy (Obs 1)
  • Allyn Smith (Obs 2)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernández - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - Operator
  • Staff calendar

Hexapod Updates

This morning/ early afternoon, the hexapod errors were understood. We can now move the hexapod through SISPI, and will be able to observe.

Weather

Pretty clear, some clouds on the horizon.

At sunset, saw that the inversion layer was below us.

Almanac

prompt> ephem
mjd 57739, date 20161216, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 16:05 CLST     UT 19:05     SidTim 20:05
Sunset     20:49 CLST  23:49 UT   SidTim   12 deg
Eve. -10   21:30 CLST  00:30 UT   SidTim   23 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:53 CLST  00:53 UT   SidTim   28 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:18 CLST  01:18 UT   SidTim   35 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   23:15 CLST  02:15 UT   SidTim   49 deg
Midpoint   01:39 CLST  04:39 UT   SidTim   85 deg
Morn -18   05:00 CLST  08:00 UT   SidTim  135 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:25 CLST  08:25 UT   SidTim  142 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:48 CLST  08:48 UT   SidTim  147 deg
Sunrise    06:29 CLST  09:29 UT   SidTim  158 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 131.5, Dec 16.4 Phase: 0.757

Tonight's Plan

Evening Standards

Evening twilight:
prompt> calspec 00:30
UT Date = '2016/12/17 00:30'     Local time = 21:30
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.8
C26202_CCD_35         ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.1
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

ObsTac

Morning Standards

Morning twilight:
prompt> calspec 08:25
UT Date = '2016/12/17 08:25'     Local time = 05:25
SDSSJ1227-0000        ra 12:27:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
SDSSJ0933-0005        ra 09:33:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 1.2

Yes, there are only two.