Project

General

Profile

12115017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58103 (starting evening of Friday, Dec 15, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Anthony Kremin (Run manager)
  • Allyn Smith (Observer 1)
  • Deborah Gulledge (Observer 2)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Alberto Alvarez - Operator
  • Manuel Hernández - Obs. Support

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58103, date 20171215, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 16:53 CLST     UT 19:53     SidTim 20:49
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:49 CLST  23:49 UT   00:45   11 deg
Eve. -10   21:30 CLST  00:30 UT   01:26   22 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:53 CLST  00:53 UT   01:49   27 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:17 CLST  01:17 UT   02:13   33 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:38 CLST  04:38 UT   05:34   84 deg
Morn -18   05:00 CLST  08:00 UT   08:56  134 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:24 CLST  08:24 UT   09:20  140 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Moonrise   05:35 CLST  08:35 UT   09:31  143 deg
Morn -10   05:47 CLST  08:47 UT   09:43  146 deg
Sunrise    06:28 CLST  09:28 UT   10:24  156 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 241.0, Dec -15.1 Phase: 0.144

Weather Conditions

  • at 4pm: No clouds, bit of a breeze.

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: Clear
  • humidity: ~ 60-70%
  • temp: ~ 11-12°C

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
  • Lowz iuw
  • Alhambra u-band, part A
  • ObsTac - wide-field - griz
  • WD0308-565/HST - around 2:30 CLST
  • ObsTac - wide-field - griz
  • Morning standards (ugrizY)

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • Evening standards
UT Date = '2017/12/16 00:30'     Local time = 21:30
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.1
SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Morning standards
UT Date = '2017/12/16 08:24'     Local time = 05:24
SDSSJ1227-0000        ra 12:27:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.3
SDSSJ0933-0005        ra 09:33:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 1.2

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name seqtype last_complete
SN-C3 long_z 2017-12-12 00:55:31.827416+00:00
SN-C1 short 2017-12-12 02:02:47.703129+00:00
SN-E1 short 2017-12-12 02:24:33.974049+00:00
SN-E2 short 2017-12-12 03:27:18.711469+00:00
SN-X3 long_g 2017-12-12 03:48:23.357279+00:00
SN-X3 long_r 2017-12-12 04:01:24.130990+00:00
SN-C2 short 2017-12-12 04:25:23.667866+00:00
SN-C3 long_g 2017-12-12 04:44:48.616039+00:00
SN-X3 long_i 2017-12-13 00:54:59.634270+00:00
SN-X3 long_z 2017-12-13 01:29:00.182835+00:00
SN-S1 short 2017-12-13 02:41:12.924692+00:00
SN-X1 short 2017-12-14 01:02:44.960257+00:00
SN-C3 long_r 2017-12-14 04:50:42.947955+00:00
SN-C3 long_i 2017-12-14 05:13:57.627847+00:00
SN-X2 short 2017-12-15 00:58:22.783296+00:00
SN-S2 short 2017-12-15 01:18:02.241640+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps