Project

General

Profile

12152013 Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56642 (starting evening of Dec 15, 2013)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager Assistant Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Alex Kim ASmith Lyndsay Old Head
ext. 513 ext. 512 ext. 516 ext. 514

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Hernan Tirado Claudio Aguilera

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56642, date 20131215, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 16:35 CLST     UT 19:35     SidTim 20:31
Sunset     20:49 CLST  23:49 UT   SidTim   11 deg  
Eve. -10   21:30 CLST  00:30 UT   SidTim   22 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:53 CLST  00:53 UT   SidTim   27 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:17 CLST  01:17 UT   SidTim   33 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:38 CLST  04:38 UT   SidTim   84 deg  
Morn -18   05:00 CLST  08:00 UT   SidTim  134 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:24 CLST  08:24 UT   SidTim  140 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:47 CLST  08:47 UT   SidTim  146 deg  
Moonset    06:04 CLST  09:04 UT   SidTim  150 deg  
Sunrise    06:28 CLST  09:28 UT   SidTim  156 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 69.8, Dec 19.9 Phase: 0.914

Weather Conditions

Potentially light clouds
http://www.meteoblue.com/en_US/weather/forecast/week/observatorio-astronomico-cerro-tololo_cl_6503
http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. Zeropoint check - preceed with zeros script: flush_Vsub.json
  3. Start of night standards (scripts listed below)
  4. Nightly out of focus image (right after last standard, no break) - script to use: defocus_nightly.json
  5. ObsTac
  6. End of night standards (scripts listed below)
  7. End of night calibrations - if good afternoon calibrations use postnight_calibration.json, otherwise use postnight_zeros_flats.json

Start of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2013/12/16 00:30' Local time = 21:30
SDSSJ2140-0000 ra 21:40:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 2.1 DES_std_sdssj2140_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ2300-0000 ra 23:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.4 DES_std_sdssj2300_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0100-0000 ra 01:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_sdssj0100_Yzirg.json

End of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2013/12/16 08:24' Local time = 05:24
SDSSJ1227-0000 ra 12:27:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.7 DES_std_sdssj1227_grizY.json
MaxVis ra 06:30:00 dec -58:45:00 secz 1.3 DES_std_maxvis_grizY.json
SDSSJ0933-0005 ra 09:33:00 dec -00:05:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_sdssj0933_grizY.json