Project

General

Profile

12114017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58102 (starting evening of Thursday, Dec 14, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Anthony Kremin (Run manager)
  • Allyn Smith (Observer 1)
  • Deborah Gulledge (Observer 2)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Alberto Alvarez - Operator
  • Manuel Hernández - Obs. Support

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58102, date 20171214, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 16:33 CLST     UT 19:33     SidTim 20:25
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:48 CLST  23:48 UT   00:40   10 deg
Eve. -10   21:29 CLST  00:29 UT   01:21   20 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:52 CLST  00:52 UT   01:44   26 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:16 CLST  01:16 UT   02:08   32 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:38 CLST  04:38 UT   05:30   82 deg
Moonrise   04:57 CLST  07:57 UT   08:49  132 deg
Morn -18   05:00 CLST  08:00 UT   08:52  133 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:24 CLST  08:24 UT   09:16  139 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:47 CLST  08:47 UT   09:39  145 deg
Sunrise    06:28 CLST  09:28 UT   10:20  155 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 229.1, Dec -12.2 Phase: 0.204

Weather Conditions

  • at 4pm: No clouds, slight breeze.

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: Clear
  • humidity: ~ 40-50%
  • temp: ~ 13-16°C

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
  • ObsTac - wide-field - griz
  • WD0308-565/HST - around midnight CLST
  • ObsTac - wide-field - griz
  • Low-z SN
  • Morning standards (ugrizY)

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • Evening standards
UT Date = '2017/12/15 00:29'     Local time = 21:29
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Morning standards
    WRONG
UT Date = '2017/12/15 05:24'     Local time = 02:24
SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 2.0*
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1
    /WRONG

    RIGHT
UT Date = '2017/12/15 08:24'     Local time = 05:24
SDSSJ1227-0000        ra 12:27:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.3*
SDSSJ0933-0005        ra 09:33:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 1.2*
    /RIGHT

*=actually observed

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name seqtype last_complete
SN-X2 short 2017-12-10 02:47:55.229105+00:00
SN-S2 short 2017-12-10 03:22:10.195939+00:00
SN-C3 long_z 2017-12-12 00:55:31.827416+00:00
SN-C1 short 2017-12-12 02:02:47.703129+00:00
SN-E1 short 2017-12-12 02:24:33.974049+00:00
SN-E2 short 2017-12-12 03:27:18.711469+00:00
SN-X3 long_g 2017-12-12 03:48:23.357279+00:00
SN-X3 long_r 2017-12-12 04:01:24.130990+00:00
SN-C2 short 2017-12-12 04:25:23.667866+00:00
SN-C3 long_g 2017-12-12 04:44:48.616039+00:00
SN-X3 long_i 2017-12-13 00:54:59.634270+00:00
SN-X3 long_z 2017-12-13 01:29:00.182835+00:00
SN-S1 short 2017-12-13 02:41:12.924692+00:00
SN-X1 short 2017-12-14 01:02:44.960257+00:00
SN-C3 long_r 2017-12-14 04:50:42.947955+00:00
SN-C3 long_i 2017-12-14 05:13:57.627847+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps