Project

General

Profile

12142013 Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56641 (starting evening of Dec 14, 2013)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager Assistant Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Alex Kim Lyndsay Old Lyndsay Old
ext. 513 ext. 516 ext. 516

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Hernan Tirado Claudio Aguilera

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56641, date 20131214, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 11:25 CLST     UT 14:25     SidTim 15:17
Sunset     20:48 CLST  23:48 UT   SidTim   10 deg  
Eve. -10   21:29 CLST  00:29 UT   SidTim   20 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:52 CLST  00:52 UT   SidTim   26 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:16 CLST  01:16 UT   SidTim   32 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:38 CLST  04:38 UT   SidTim   82 deg  
Morn -18   05:00 CLST  08:00 UT   SidTim  133 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Moonset    05:18 CLST  08:18 UT   SidTim  138 deg  
Morn Std   05:24 CLST  08:24 UT   SidTim  139 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:47 CLST  08:47 UT   SidTim  145 deg  
Sunrise    06:28 CLST  09:28 UT   SidTim  155 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 56.8, Dec 18.7 Phase: 0.848

Weather Conditions

Looks like it should be mostly clear but potentially some light clouds towards later part of the night.
http://www.meteoblue.com/en_US/weather/forecast/week/observatorio-astronomico-cerro-tololo_cl_6503
http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. Zeropoint check - preceed with zeros script: flush_Vsub.json
  3. Start of night standards (scripts listed below)
  4. Nightly out of focus image (right after last standard, no break) - script to use: defocus_nightly.json
  5. ObsTac
  6. End of night standards (scripts listed below)
  7. End of night calibrations - if good afternoon calibrations use postnight_calibration.json, otherwise use postnight_zeros_flats.json

Start of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2013/12/15 00:29' Local time = 21:29
SDSSJ2140-0000 ra 21:40:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 2.0 DES_std_sdssj2140_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ2300-0000 ra 23:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.4 DES_std_sdssj2300_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0100-0000 ra 01:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_sdssj0100_Yzirg.json

End of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2013/12/15 08:24' Local time = 05:24
SDSSJ1227-0000 ra 12:27:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.7 DES_std_sdssj1227_grizY.json
SDSSJ1048-0000 ra 10:48:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.3 DES_std_sdssj1048_grizY.json
SDSSJ0933-0005 ra 09:33:00 dec -00:05:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_sdssj0933_grizY.json