Project

General

Profile

12113017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58101 (starting evening of Wednesday, Dec 13, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Anthony Kremin (Run manager)
  • Deborah Gulledge (Observer 1)
  • Allyn Smith (Observer 2)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Claudio Aguilera - Operator
  • Manuel Hernández - Obs. Support

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58101, date 20171213, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 16:25 CLST     UT 19:25     SidTim 20:13
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:47 CLST  23:47 UT   00:35    9 deg
Eve. -10   21:28 CLST  00:28 UT   01:16   19 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:51 CLST  00:51 UT   01:39   25 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:15 CLST  01:15 UT   02:04   31 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:37 CLST  04:37 UT   05:26   82 deg
Moonrise   04:21 CLST  07:21 UT   08:09  122 deg
Morn -18   04:59 CLST  07:59 UT   08:48  132 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:24 CLST  08:24 UT   09:12  138 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:47 CLST  08:47 UT   09:35  144 deg
Sunrise    06:27 CLST  09:27 UT   10:16  154 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 217.4, Dec -8.7 Phase: 0.262

Weather Conditions

  • at 4pm: Some high clouds but things appear to be clearing up. About 5C warmer than yesterday

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: Roughly 10% coverage that clears over the first hour, then clear
  • humidity: ~ 50-60%
  • temp: ~ 12-13°C

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
  • ObsTac - wide-field - griz
  • WD0308-565/HST - around midnight CLST
  • ObsTac - wide-field - griz at darktime, then [ri]zY
  • Morning standards (grizY)

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • Evening standards
UT Date = '2017/12/14 00:28'     Local time = 21:28
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Morning standards
UT Date = '2017/12/14 08:24'     Local time = 05:24
SDSSJ1227-0000        ra 12:27:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.3
SDSSJ0933-0005        ra 09:33:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 1.2

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name seqtype last_complete
SN-X1 short 2017-12-10 01:11:13.510610+00:00
SN-X2 short 2017-12-10 02:47:55.229105+00:00
SN-S2 short 2017-12-10 03:22:10.195939+00:00
SN-C3 long_r 2017-12-10 05:10:22.397276+00:00
SN-C3 long_i 2017-12-10 05:48:22.748116+00:00
SN-C3 long_z 2017-12-12 00:55:31.827416+00:00
SN-C1 short 2017-12-12 02:02:47.703129+00:00
SN-E1 short 2017-12-12 02:24:33.974049+00:00
SN-E2 short 2017-12-12 03:27:18.711469+00:00
SN-X3 long_g 2017-12-12 03:48:23.357279+00:00
SN-X3 long_r 2017-12-12 04:01:24.130990+00:00
SN-C2 short 2017-12-12 04:25:23.667866+00:00
SN-C3 long_g 2017-12-12 04:44:48.616039+00:00
SN-X3 long_i 2017-12-13 00:54:59.634270+00:00
SN-X3 long_z 2017-12-13 01:29:00.182835+00:00
SN-S1 short 2017-12-13 02:41:12.924692+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps