Project

General

Profile

12132013 Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56640 (starting evening of Dec 13, 2013)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager Assistant Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Carlos Cunha Alex Kim Lyndsay Old
ext. 512 ext. 513 ext. 516

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Hernan Tirado Claudio Aguilera

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56640, date 20131213, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 10:25 CLST     UT 13:25     SidTim 14:13
Sunset     20:47 CLST  23:47 UT   SidTim    9 deg  
Eve. -10   21:28 CLST  00:28 UT   SidTim   19 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:51 CLST  00:51 UT   SidTim   25 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:15 CLST  01:15 UT   SidTim   31 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:37 CLST  04:37 UT   SidTim   81 deg  
Moonset    04:35 CLST  07:35 UT   SidTim  126 deg  
Morn -18   04:59 CLST  07:59 UT   SidTim  132 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:24 CLST  08:24 UT   SidTim  138 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:47 CLST  08:47 UT   SidTim  144 deg  
Sunrise    06:27 CLST  09:27 UT   SidTim  154 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 43.9, Dec 16.6 Phase: 0.783

Weather Conditions

Looks like it should be mostly clear but potentially some light clouds towards later part of the night.
http://www.meteoblue.com/en_US/weather/forecast/week/observatorio-astronomico-cerro-tololo_cl_6503
http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. Zeropoint check - preceed with zeros script: flush_Vsub.json
  3. Start of night standards (scripts listed below)
  4. Nightly out of focus image (right after last standard, no break) - script to use: defocus_nightly.json
  5. ObsTac
  6. End of night standards (scripts listed below)
  7. End of night calibrations - if good afternoon calibrations use postnight_calibration.json, otherwise use postnight_zeros_flats.json

Start of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2013/12/14 00:28' Local time = 21:28
SDSSJ2140-0000 ra 21:40:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 2.0 DES_std_sdssj2140_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ2300-0000 ra 23:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.4 DES_std_sdssj2300_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0100-0000 ra 01:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_sdssj0100_Yzirg.json

End of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2013/12/14 08:24' Local time = 05:24
SDSSJ1227-0000 ra 12:27:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.7 DES_std_sdssj1227_grizY.json
SDSSJ1048-0000 ra 10:48:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.3 DES_std_sdssj1048_grizY.json
SDSSJ0933-0005 ra 09:33:00 dec -00:05:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_sdssj0933_grizY.json

Notes from the 4pm meeting

Run Manager's Meeting 12/13/13
------------------------------
Kevin Reil, Lyndsay, Steve, Marisa, Eric, Doug, Alex, HTD
Michael, Margaret, Robert, Marisa, Klaus

Camera and Telescope (Hernan via Lyndsay)
-----------------------------------------
Cleaned mirror (primary?) today with CO2.
There are hexapod tests of some kind at the moment.

Last Night (Lyndsay)
--------------------
Good night. WF data in tiling 1 most of the night.
See night summary.

DESDM
------------
12/8 and 9 are finished processing. 12/10 is running. DQ when it is
done.

All WF that are processed get a DQ assessment except ones that are
not processed.

One exposure arrived late recently and it wasn't processed with the rest.
This doesn't get a grade for the time being. Obstac assumes it's good.

Comments (incomplete notes):
But we don't want unknowns.
There are several ways we don't get a DQ grade.
Robert says only mark for retake is DM_accept is false.
RG says 55 images failed this way out of 11,000-ish.
Eric has 144 images where sispi doesn't know the grade.
These 2 lists need to be squared-up.
19 or so from 8/16, 60 from 12/9, others.

Tonight
--------
Weather looks good, maybe clouds later on.
Some SN are at 4d so if seeing isn't good it will do some.
WF tonight. Moony at start and middle.

AOB
---
Rasicam may have been cleaned today. Needs recalibration. Kevin's on it.
A LLL non-linearity PTC was done yesterday and we may not need any
more of these.