Project

General

Profile

12112017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58100 (starting evening of Tuesday, Dec 12, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Anthony Kremin (Run manager)
  • Deborah Gulledge (Observer 1)
  • Allyn Smith (Observer 2)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Claudio Aguilera - Operator
  • Manuel Hernández - Obs. Support

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58100, date 20171212, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 16:54 CLST     UT 19:54     SidTim 20:38
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:47 CLST  23:47 UT   00:31    8 deg
Eve. -10   21:28 CLST  00:28 UT   01:12   18 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:50 CLST  00:50 UT   01:35   24 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:15 CLST  01:15 UT   01:59   30 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:37 CLST  04:37 UT   05:21   80 deg
Moonrise   03:46 CLST  06:46 UT   07:31  113 deg
Morn -18   04:59 CLST  07:59 UT   08:43  131 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:23 CLST  08:23 UT   09:08  137 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:46 CLST  08:46 UT   09:31  143 deg
Sunrise    06:27 CLST  09:27 UT   10:11  153 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 205.7, Dec -4.8 Phase: 0.321

Weather Conditions

  • at 4pm: partly cloudy including low-hanging clouds

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: Roughly 80% coverage all night, but high altitude (so hopefully thin)
  • humidity: ~ 70-75%
  • temp: ~ 8-9°C

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
  • ObsTac - SN on deadman: X3-z,X3-i
  • ObsTac - wide-field - griz
  • Obstac - possible seeing triggered SN: S1 (it has been 5 nights)
  • WD0308-565/HST - around midnight CLST
  • ObsTac - wide-field - griz at darktime, then [ri]zY
  • Morning standards (grizY)

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • Evening standards
UT Date = '2017/12/13 00:28'     Local time = 21:28
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Morning standards
UT Date = '2017/12/13 08:46'     Local time = 05:46
SDSSJ1227-0000        ra 12:27:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
SDSSJ0933-0005        ra 09:33:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 1.2

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name seqtype last_complete
SN-X3 long_z 2017-12-06 01:39:09.767128+00:00
SN-X3 long_i 2017-12-06 03:32:15.530528+00:00
SN-S1 short 2017-12-07 02:15:49.721806+00:00
SN-X1 short 2017-12-10 01:11:13.510610+00:00
SN-X2 short 2017-12-10 02:47:55.229105+00:00
SN-S2 short 2017-12-10 03:22:10.195939+00:00
SN-C3 long_r 2017-12-10 05:10:22.397276+00:00
SN-C3 long_i 2017-12-10 05:48:22.748116+00:00
SN-C3 long_z 2017-12-12 00:55:31.827416+00:00
SN-C1 short 2017-12-12 02:02:47.703129+00:00
SN-E1 short 2017-12-12 02:24:33.974049+00:00
SN-E2 short 2017-12-12 03:27:18.711469+00:00
SN-X3 long_g 2017-12-12 03:48:23.357279+00:00
SN-X3 long_r 2017-12-12 04:01:24.130990+00:00
SN-C2 short 2017-12-12 04:25:23.667866+00:00
SN-C3 long_g 2017-12-12 04:44:48.616039+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps