Project

General

Profile

12122013 Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56639 (starting evening of Dec 12, 2013)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager Assistant Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Carlos Cunha Alex Kim Lyndsay Old
ext. 512 ext. 513 ext. 516

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Hernan Tirado Alberto Alvarez

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56639, date 20131212, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 10:07 CLST     UT 13:07     SidTim 13:51
Sunset     20:47 CLST  23:47 UT   SidTim    8 deg  
Eve. -10   21:28 CLST  00:28 UT   SidTim   18 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:50 CLST  00:50 UT   SidTim   24 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:15 CLST  01:15 UT   SidTim   30 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:37 CLST  04:37 UT   SidTim   80 deg  
Moonset    03:54 CLST  06:54 UT   SidTim  114 deg  
Morn -18   04:59 CLST  07:59 UT   SidTim  131 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:23 CLST  08:23 UT   SidTim  137 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:46 CLST  08:46 UT   SidTim  142 deg  
Sunrise    06:27 CLST  09:27 UT   SidTim  153 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 31.2, Dec 13.7 Phase: 0.719

Weather Conditions

Looks like it should be mostly clear but potentially some light clouds
http://www.meteoblue.com/en_US/weather/forecast/week/observatorio-astronomico-cerro-tololo_cl_6503
http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. Zeropoint check - preceed with zeros script: flush_Vsub.json
  3. Start of night standards (scripts listed below)
  4. Nightly out of focus image (right after last standard, no break) - script to use: defocus_nightly.json
  5. ObsTac
  6. End of night standards (scripts listed below)
  7. End of night calibrations - if good afternoon calibrations use postnight_calibration.json, otherwise use postnight_zeros_flats.json

Start of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2013/12/13 00:28' Local time = 21:28
SDSSJ2140-0000 ra 21:40:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.9 DES_std_sdssj2140_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ2300-0000 ra 23:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.4 DES_std_sdssj2300_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0100-0000 ra 01:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_sdssj0100_Yzirg.json

End of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2013/12/13 08:23' Local time = 05:23
SDSSJ1227-0000 ra 12:27:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.8 DES_std_sdssj1227_grizY.json
SDSSJ1048-0000 ra 10:48:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.3 DES_std_sdssj1048_grizY.json
SDSSJ0933-0005 ra 09:33:00 dec -00:05:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_sdssj0933_grizY.json

Notes from the 4pm meeting