Project

General

Profile

12112018

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58464 (starting the evening of Dec 11, 2018)

Observers

  • Josh Frieman (Run manager)
  • Rob Morgan (Observer 1)
  • Santi Avila (Observer 2)

CTIO Staff

Almanac

from kentools ephem

mjd 58464, date 20181211, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 17:05 CLST     UT 20:05     SidTim 20:44
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:46 CLST  23:46 UT   00:25    6 deg  
Eve. -10   21:27 CLST  00:27 UT   01:06   16 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:50 CLST  00:50 UT   01:29   22 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:14 CLST  01:14 UT   01:53   28 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    00:09 CLST  03:09 UT   03:48   57 deg  
Midpoint   01:36 CLST  04:36 UT   05:16   79 deg  
Morn -18   04:59 CLST  07:59 UT   08:38  130 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:23 CLST  08:23 UT   09:02  136 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:46 CLST  08:46 UT   09:25  141 deg  
Sunrise    06:27 CLST  09:27 UT   10:06  152 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 316.5, Dec -17.5 Phase: 0.306

Weather Conditions

  • At 17:00 local time, clear sky, warm (18 degrees) with light breeze (6 mph), humidity 28%
  • Tonight: Forecast clear skies, Temp. 13 degrees, light breeze shifting from northwest to south, Humidity ~40%.
  • Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES Half night
  • Evening standards
    UT Date = '2018/12/12 00:27'     Local time = 21:27
    SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • Midpoint standards
    UT Date = '2018/12/12 04:30'     Local time = 01:30
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
    

    h3. Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

Telescope and camera are good, calibrations started. All data from last night processed by DESDM, all but 6 declared good, and accepted into survey table.

For tonight:

  • Do only 2 standards, followed by Stripe 82 Y-band script, followed by Obstac.
  • OBSTAC
  • If seeing is bad (Bad means if the psf is > 1.6 arcsec for several exposures in a row with no sign of improvement) complete Photosweep, then Narrowband (details below). If running Narrowband, prioritize E2.

Photosweep
----------
If you have "Bad Seeing" and photometric and not worse than 2.0", do
Photosweep. Instructions can be found here:

https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/Y6_global_photometry_program

Do not bother with this program if clouds are visible on Rasicam or if
seeing is highly variable, for the varying aperture corrections make
it difficult to get to mmag accuracy.

One needs to run a script at CTIO to generate the jsons (see the
instructions wiki page). Having done that the Photosweep scripts can
be found in
/usr/remote/user/DECamObserver/ExposureScripts/DES_scripts
with names like: photosweep20180914-2200Z.json

Select the one with timestamp closest to the next top of hour, now in
UT (we got the z added). Do not bother with this is there's < 30
minutes left in the night. A script probably takes an hour.

Narrowband
----------

If "Bad Seeing" and not photometric, or if "Bad Seeing" and everything
else if done, then do Narrowband. Instructions and a description can be found here:

https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/Narrowband_SN_imaging_program

Narrowband scripts are in the same directory as Photosweep, and have names like SN-C3X-N964.json

They are on the SN fields, so select the field that is closest to transit. Transit time for SN fields can be found on this page:

http://des-ops.fnal.gov:8080/prednight/

These are expected to be about an hour long. If the clouds are only moderate, we could do these.

Priorities (highest to lowest)

Other Notes