Project

General

Profile

12112017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58099 (starting evening of Monday, Dec 11, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Rutuparna Das (Run manager)
  • Anthony Kremin (Observer 1)
  • Andrew Pace (Observer 2)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Claudio Aguilera - Operator
  • Manuel Hernández - Obs. Support

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58099, date 20171211, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 14:31 CLST     UT 17:31     SidTim 18:11
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:46 CLST  23:46 UT   00:26    6 deg  
Eve. -10   21:27 CLST  00:27 UT   01:07   17 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:50 CLST  00:50 UT   01:30   22 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:14 CLST  01:14 UT   01:54   28 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:36 CLST  04:36 UT   05:17   79 deg  
Moonrise   03:12 CLST  06:12 UT   06:52  103 deg  
Morn -18   04:59 CLST  07:59 UT   08:39  130 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:23 CLST  08:23 UT   09:03  136 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:46 CLST  08:46 UT   09:26  142 deg  
Sunrise    06:27 CLST  09:27 UT   10:07  152 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 194.0, Dec -0.6 Phase: 0.380

Weather Conditions

  • at 4pm: mostly clear, some clouds to the east

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: clear first half, partly cloudy second half
  • humidity: ~ 75%
  • temp: ~ 8-9°C

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
  • ObsTac - SN on deadman: C3z, C1
  • ObsTac - wide-field - gri
  • WD0308-565/HST - around midnight CLST
  • ObsTac - wide-field - gri at darktime, then [i]zY
  • Morning standards (grizY)

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • Evening standards
UT Date = '2017/12/12 00:27'     Local time = 21:27
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Morning standards
UT Date = '2017/12/12 08:23'     Local time = 05:23
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.3
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name seqtype last_complete
SN-C3 long_z 2017-12-05 03:05:13.639283+00:00
SN-C1 short 2017-12-05 04:12:39.610821+00:00
SN-X3 long_g 2017-12-06 00:48:34.240470+00:00
SN-C3 long_g 2017-12-06 01:02:29.754272+00:00
SN-E2 short 2017-12-06 01:17:08.890253+00:00
SN-X3 long_z 2017-12-06 01:39:09.767128+00:00
SN-E1 short 2017-12-06 02:48:08.674162+00:00
SN-X3 long_r 2017-12-06 03:09:02.739232+00:00
SN-X3 long_i 2017-12-06 03:32:15.530528+00:00
SN-C2 short 2017-12-06 04:07:21.472570+00:00
SN-S1 short 2017-12-07 02:15:49.721806+00:00
SN-X1 short 2017-12-10 01:11:13.510610+00:00
SN-X2 short 2017-12-10 02:47:55.229105+00:00
SN-S2 short 2017-12-10 03:22:10.195939+00:00
SN-C3 long_r 2017-12-10 05:10:22.397276+00:00
SN-C3 long_i 2017-12-10 05:48:22.748116+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps