Project

General

Profile

12112013 Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56638 (starting evening of Dec 11, 2013)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager Assistant Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Carlos Cunha Alex Kim Lyndsay Old
ext. 512 ext. 513 ext. 516

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Hernan Tirado Alberto Alvarez

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56638, date 20131211, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 10:13 CLST     UT 13:13     SidTim 13:53
Sunset     20:46 CLST  23:46 UT   SidTim    6 deg  
Eve. -10   21:27 CLST  00:27 UT   SidTim   17 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:50 CLST  00:50 UT   SidTim   22 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:14 CLST  01:14 UT   SidTim   28 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:36 CLST  04:36 UT   SidTim   79 deg  
Moonset    03:15 CLST  06:15 UT   SidTim  104 deg  
Morn -18   04:59 CLST  07:59 UT   SidTim  130 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:23 CLST  08:23 UT   SidTim  136 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:46 CLST  08:46 UT   SidTim  142 deg  
Sunrise    06:27 CLST  09:27 UT   SidTim  152 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 18.6, Dec 10.2 Phase: 0.654

Weather Conditions

Looks like we will have a clear night.
http://www.meteoblue.com/en_US/weather/forecast/week/observatorio-astronomico-cerro-tololo_cl_6503
http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. Zeropoint check - preceed with zeros script: flush_Vsub.json
  3. Start of night standards (scripts listed below)
  4. Nightly out of focus image (right after last standard, no break) - script to use: defocus_nightly.json
  5. ObsTac
  6. End of night standards (scripts listed below)
  7. End of night calibrations - if good afternoon calibrations use postnight_calibration.json, otherwise use postnight_zeros_flats.json

Start of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2013/12/12 00:27' Local time = 21:27
SDSSJ2140-0000 ra 21:40:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.9 DES_std_sdssj2140_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0320-0000 ra 03:20:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.4 DES_std_sdssj0320_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0200-0000 ra 02:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_sdssj0200_Yzirg.json

End of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2013/12/12 08:23' Local time = 05:23
SDSSJ1227-0000 ra 12:27:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.8 DES_std_sdssj1227_grizY.json
SDSSJ1048-0000 ra 10:48:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.3 DES_std_sdssj1048_grizY.json
SDSSJ0843-0000 ra 08:43:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_sdssj0843_grizY.json

Notes from the 4pm meeting

Run Manager's Meeting Dec-11-2013
----------------------------------
Lyndsay, Margaret, Michael, Marcelle, Eric, Alex, Klaus, HTD, Doug
Robert

Telescope & Camera (Lyndsay)
----------------------------
Work on the external photodiodes (Marco), and Dome Cooling, today.
SISPI is restarted and telescope at the white spot.

Last Night (Lyndsay)
---------------------
At start of prenight calibrations there was excess light.
A lamp had been left on in the CASS Cage. Cost 2 hrs.

A single guider CCD alarm, a sharp rise and fall in FCM humidity.

Good WF data last night.

VSUB off occurred before the morning calibrations were finished.
Guess they Pushed wrong button trying to turn off OBSTAC. TBC.

DESDM (M&M)
-----------
SN Assessment scripts from Marisa are received for 12/8 and 12/9.

WF DQ is being mnade for 12/5 and 12/6. Skipped 12/7, which was all
bad SN. Currently processing the 8th, getting ready to start the 9th.
1st New DQ assessment is for the 5th. 12/4 is the old DQ.

Tonight
-------
weather looks good.
Obstac is WF, probably tiling 1. Kinda Moony early so we expect
SW z-band to start.

AOB
---
Nope.