Project

General

Profile

12102017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58098 (starting evening of Sunday, Dec 10, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Rutuparna Das (Run manager)
  • Martín Monroy (Observer 1)
  • Andrew Pace (Observer 2)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Claudio Aguilera - Operator
  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Rodrigo Hernandez

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58098, date 20171210, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 13:35 CLST     UT 16:35     SidTim 17:11
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:45 CLST  23:45 UT   00:22    6 deg  
Eve. -10   21:26 CLST  00:26 UT   01:02   16 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:49 CLST  00:49 UT   01:25   21 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:13 CLST  01:13 UT   01:49   27 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:36 CLST  04:36 UT   05:12   78 deg  
Moonrise   02:37 CLST  05:37 UT   06:14   94 deg  
Morn -18   04:59 CLST  07:59 UT   08:35  129 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:23 CLST  08:23 UT   08:59  135 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:46 CLST  08:46 UT   09:22  140 deg  
Sunrise    06:27 CLST  09:27 UT   10:03  151 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 182.0, Dec 3.7 Phase: 0.440

Weather Conditions

  • at 4pm: mostly clear, windy, some clouds to northeast

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: clear all night
  • humidity: ~ 65% (higher at start of night)
  • temp: ~ 11°C

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
  • ObsTac (wide-field - gri)
  • WD0308-565/HST - around midnight CLST
  • ObsTac (wide-field - gri at darktime, then [i]zY)
  • AT2017 IMW - 6-7 minutes before morning standards
  • Morning standards (ugrizY)

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • Evening standards
UT Date = '2017/12/11 00:26'     Local time = 21:26
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Morning standards
UT Date = '2017/12/11 08:23'     Local time = 05:23
E2-A                  ra 04:03:00  dec -44:41:45  secz 1.9
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.3
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name seqtype last_complete
SN-C3 long_z 2017-12-05 03:05:13.639283+00:00
SN-C1 short 2017-12-05 04:12:39.610821+00:00
SN-X3 long_g 2017-12-06 00:48:34.240470+00:00
SN-C3 long_g 2017-12-06 01:02:29.754272+00:00
SN-E2 short 2017-12-06 01:17:08.890253+00:00
SN-X3 long_z 2017-12-06 01:39:09.767128+00:00
SN-E1 short 2017-12-06 02:48:08.674162+00:00
SN-X3 long_r 2017-12-06 03:09:02.739232+00:00
SN-X3 long_i 2017-12-06 03:32:15.530528+00:00
SN-C2 short 2017-12-06 04:07:21.472570+00:00
SN-S1 short 2017-12-07 02:15:49.721806+00:00
SN-X1 short 2017-12-10 01:11:13.510610+00:00
SN-X2 short 2017-12-10 02:47:55.229105+00:00
SN-S2 short 2017-12-10 03:22:10.195939+00:00
SN-C3 long_r 2017-12-10 05:10:22.397276+00:00
SN-C3 long_i 2017-12-10 05:48:22.748116+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps