Project

General

Profile

12102013 Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56637 (starting evening of Dec 10, 2013)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager Assistant Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Carlos Cunha Alex Kim Lyndsay Old
ext. 512 ext. 513 ext. 516

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Hernan Tirado Alberto Alvarez

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56637, date 20131210, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 10:51 CLST     UT 13:51     SidTim 14:28
Sunset     20:45 CLST  23:45 UT   SidTim    6 deg  
Eve. -10   21:26 CLST  00:26 UT   SidTim   16 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:49 CLST  00:49 UT   SidTim   21 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:13 CLST  01:13 UT   SidTim   27 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:36 CLST  04:36 UT   SidTim   78 deg  
Moonset    02:38 CLST  05:38 UT   SidTim   94 deg  
Morn -18   04:59 CLST  07:59 UT   SidTim  129 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:23 CLST  08:23 UT   SidTim  135 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:46 CLST  08:46 UT   SidTim  140 deg  
Sunrise    06:27 CLST  09:27 UT   SidTim  151 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 6.1, Dec 6.2 Phase: 0.590

Weather Conditions

Looks like we will have a clear night.
http://www.meteoblue.com/en_US/weather/forecast/week/observatorio-astronomico-cerro-tololo_cl_6503
http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. Zeropoint check - preceed with zeros script: flush_Vsub.json
  3. Start of night standards (scripts listed below)
  4. Nightly out of focus image (right after last standard, no break) - script to use: defocus_nightly.json
  5. ObsTac
  6. End of night standards (scripts listed below)
  7. End of night calibrations - if good afternoon calibrations use postnight_calibration.json, otherwise use postnight_zeros_flats.json

Start of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2013/12/11 00:26' Local time = 21:26
SDSSJ2140-0000 ra 21:40:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.8 DES_std_sdssj2140_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0320-0000 ra 03:20:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.4 DES_std_sdssj0320_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0200-0000 ra 02:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_sdssj0200_Yzirg.json

End of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2013/12/11 08:23' Local time = 05:23
SDSSJ1227-0000 ra 12:27:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.9 DES_std_sdssj1227_grizY.json
SDSSJ1048-0000 ra 10:48:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.3 DES_std_sdssj1048_grizY.json
SDSSJ0843-0000 ra 08:43:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_sdssj0843_grizY.json

Notes from the 4pm meeting