Project

General

Profile

12092017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58097 (starting evening of Saturday, Dec 9, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Rutuparna Das (Run manager)
  • Andrew Pace (Observer 1)
  • Martín Monroy (Observer 2)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Claudio Aguilera - Operator
  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Rodrigo Hernández

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58097, date 20171209, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 14:17 CLST     UT 17:17     SidTim 17:49
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:45 CLST  23:45 UT   00:17    4 deg  
Eve. -10   21:25 CLST  00:25 UT   00:58   14 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:48 CLST  00:48 UT   01:21   20 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:12 CLST  01:12 UT   01:45   26 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:36 CLST  04:36 UT   05:08   77 deg  
Moonrise   02:01 CLST  05:01 UT   05:33   83 deg  
Morn -18   04:59 CLST  07:59 UT   08:31  128 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:23 CLST  08:23 UT   08:55  134 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:46 CLST  08:46 UT   09:18  140 deg  
Sunrise    06:26 CLST  09:26 UT   09:59  150 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 169.5, Dec 8.1 Phase: 0.503

Weather Conditions

  • at 4pm: clear, windy

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: clear all night
  • humidity: ~ 50-30% (higher at start of night)
  • temp: ~ 14°C

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
  • ObsTac (wide-field - gri)
  • WD0308-565/HST - around midnight CLST
  • ObsTac (wide-field - gri at darktime, then [i]zY)
  • Morning standards (grizY)

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • Evening standards
UT Date = '2017/12/10 00:25'     Local time = 21:25
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Morning standards
UT Date = '2017/12/10 08:23'     Local time = 05:23
E2-A                  ra 04:03:00  dec -44:41:45  secz 1.9
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.3
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name seqtype last_complete
SN-X1 short 2017-12-05 00:49:15.729079+00:00
SN-X2 short 2017-12-05 01:08:34.825867+00:00
SN-S2 short 2017-12-05 01:28:08.431443+00:00
SN-C3 long_r 2017-12-05 02:07:47.791203+00:00
SN-C3 long_i 2017-12-05 02:31:03.010364+00:00
SN-C3 long_z 2017-12-05 03:05:13.639283+00:00
SN-C1 short 2017-12-05 04:12:39.610821+00:00
SN-X3 long_g 2017-12-06 00:48:34.240470+00:00
SN-C3 long_g 2017-12-06 01:02:29.754272+00:00
SN-E2 short 2017-12-06 01:17:08.890253+00:00
SN-X3 long_z 2017-12-06 01:39:09.767128+00:00
SN-E1 short 2017-12-06 02:48:08.674162+00:00
SN-X3 long_r 2017-12-06 03:09:02.739232+00:00
SN-X3 long_i 2017-12-06 03:32:15.530528+00:00
SN-C2 short 2017-12-06 04:07:21.472570+00:00
SN-S1 short 2017-12-07 02:15:49.721806+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps