Project

General

Profile

12082016 » History » Version 3

« Previous - Version 3/4 (diff) - Next » - Current version
Irshad Mohammed, 12/08/2016 01:10 PM


12082016

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57731 (starting evening of Dec 8, 2016)

Full night

Observers

  • Ben Thomas (Run Manager)
  • Irshad Mohammed (Obs 1)
  • Alfredo Zenteno (Obs 2)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - Operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57731, date 20161208, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 13:44 CLST     UT 16:44     SidTim 17:14
Sunset     20:44 CLST  23:44 UT   SidTim    3 deg  
Eve. -10   21:25 CLST  00:25 UT   SidTim   14 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:48 CLST  00:48 UT   SidTim   19 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:12 CLST  01:12 UT   SidTim   25 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:35 CLST  04:35 UT   SidTim   76 deg  
Moonset    03:11 CLST  06:11 UT   SidTim  100 deg  
Morn -18   04:59 CLST  07:59 UT   SidTim  127 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:23 CLST  08:23 UT   SidTim  133 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:46 CLST  08:46 UT   SidTim  139 deg  
Sunrise    06:26 CLST  09:26 UT   SidTim  149 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 10.1, Dec 2.2 Phase: 0.623

Weather Conditions

*Fairly cloudy in the afternoon (40%). Predicted to stay the same until the start of the night, and then worsen throughout the night, reaching ~90% by 1am local. Also high humidity generally and some rain at 1 - 4 am local.

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

For a perfect night the goal would be the following. Will try to get as much done as possible.

In the event that we get clouded out, we'll run DECal scans.

  • Evening standards (using calspec):
UT Date = '2016/12/09 00:25'     Local time = 21:25
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
Feige110_CCD_35       ra 23:19:58  dec -05:04:57  secz 1.2
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Obstac -- Will let obstac do its thing.
  • Morning standards (using calspec):
UT Date = '2016/12/09 08:23'     Local time = 05:23
SDSSJ1227-0000        ra 12:27:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.3
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

When were the last SN fields observed?

hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-X3    long_z    2016-12-03 02:22:58.862960+00:00
SN-S1    short    2016-12-03 03:30:37.257819+00:00
SN-X1    short    2016-12-06 00:45:56.957992+00:00
SN-X2    short    2016-12-06 01:05:12.323112+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2016-12-07 00:50:03.709723+00:00
SN-C1    short    2016-12-07 01:13:02.694222+00:00
SN-E1    short    2016-12-08 00:56:25.262558+00:00
SN-E2    short    2016-12-08 01:15:41.932242+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2016-12-08 01:37:18.026096+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2016-12-08 01:50:16.806619+00:00
SN-S2    short    2016-12-08 02:24:20.076913+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2016-12-08 02:44:50.506943+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2016-12-08 03:18:58.080030+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2016-12-08 04:27:43.791047+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2016-12-08 04:51:42.985095+00:00
SN-C2    short    2016-12-08 05:04:41.007671+00:00

Notes from 4pm Meeting

X3 and S1 on seeing trigger
if dome opens take main survey
if not run DECal scans