Project

General

Profile

12082013 - Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56635 (starting evening of Dec 8, 2013)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager Assistant Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Carlos Cunha Elisabeth Krause Marcelle Soares-Santos
ext. 512 ext. 515 ext. 518

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Manuel Hernandez Alberto Alvarez

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56635, date 20131208, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 11:22 CLST     UT 14:22     SidTim 14:51
Sunset     20:44 CLST  23:44 UT   SidTim    3 deg  
Eve. -10   21:25 CLST  00:25 UT   SidTim   13 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:47 CLST  00:47 UT   SidTim   19 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:11 CLST  01:11 UT   SidTim   25 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    01:22 CLST  04:22 UT   SidTim   73 deg  
Midpoint   01:35 CLST  04:35 UT   SidTim   76 deg  
Morn -18   04:59 CLST  07:59 UT   SidTim  127 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:23 CLST  08:23 UT   SidTim  133 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:46 CLST  08:46 UT   SidTim  138 deg  
Sunrise    06:26 CLST  09:26 UT   SidTim  149 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 340.6, Dec -2.8 Phase: 0.459

Weather Conditions

Clouds, possibly clear later in the night.
http://www.meteoblue.com/en_US/weather/forecast/week/observatorio-astronomico-cerro-tololo_cl_6503
http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. Zeropoint check - preceed with zeros script: flush_Vsub.json
  3. Start of night standards (scripts listed below)
  4. Nightly out of focus image (right after last standard, no break) - script to use: defocus_nightly.json
  5. ObsTac
  6. End of night standards (scripts listed below)
  7. End of night calibrations - if good afternoon calibrations use postnight_calibration.json, otherwise use postnight_zeros_flats.json

Start of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2013/12/09 00:25' Local time = 21:25
MaxVis ra 06:30:00 dec -58:45:00 secz 2.1 DES_std_maxvis_Yzirgu.json
SDSSJ0320-0000 ra 03:20:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.4 DES_std_sdssj0320_Yzirgu.json
SDSSJ0100-0000 ra 01:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_sdssj0100_Yzirgu.json

End of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2013/12/09 08:23' Local time = 05:23
SDSSJ1227-0000 ra 12:27:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.9 DES_std_sdssj1227_ugrizY.json
SDSSJ1048-0000 ra 10:48:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.3 DES_std_sdssj1048_ugrizY.json
SDSSJ0843-0000 ra 08:43:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 DES_std_sdssj0843_ugrizY.json