Project

General

Profile

12072017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58095 (starting evening of Thursday, Dec 7, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Rutuparna Das (Run manager)
  • Martín Monroy (Observer 1)
  • Andrew Pace (Observer 2)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Claudio Aguilera - Operator
  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58095, date 20171207, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:25 CLST     UT 18:25     SidTim 18:50
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:43 CLST  23:43 UT   00:08    2 deg  
Eve. -10   21:24 CLST  00:24 UT   00:48   12 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:47 CLST  00:47 UT   01:11   18 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:10 CLST  01:10 UT   01:35   24 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   00:37 CLST  03:37 UT   04:01   60 deg  
Midpoint   01:35 CLST  04:35 UT   04:59   75 deg  
Morn -18   04:59 CLST  07:59 UT   08:23  126 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:23 CLST  08:23 UT   08:47  132 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:46 CLST  08:46 UT   09:10  138 deg  
Sunrise    06:26 CLST  09:26 UT   09:51  148 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 142.5, Dec 15.8 Phase: 0.641

Weather Conditions

  • at 4pm: clear, windy

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: clear all night
  • humidity: ~ 50% (higher at start of night)
  • temp: ~ 12-13°C

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
  • some ObsTac (wide-field - gri at darktime, then zY)
  • WD0308-565/HST (sometime between 22:30 and 01:30 CLST - after -18deg, before moonrise)
  • ObsTac (wide-field - gri at darktime, then zY)
  • Morning standards (grizY)

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • Evening standards
UT Date = '2017/12/08 00:24'     Local time = 21:24
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Morning standards
UT Date = '2017/12/08 08:23'     Local time = 05:23
SDSSJ1227-0000        ra 12:27:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.3
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name seqtype last_complete
SN-X1 short 2017-12-05 00:49:15.729079+00:00
SN-X2 short 2017-12-05 01:08:34.825867+00:00
SN-S2 short 2017-12-05 01:28:08.431443+00:00
SN-C3 long_r 2017-12-05 02:07:47.791203+00:00
SN-C3 long_i 2017-12-05 02:31:03.010364+00:00
SN-C3 long_z 2017-12-05 03:05:13.639283+00:00
SN-C1 short 2017-12-05 04:12:39.610821+00:00
SN-X3 long_g 2017-12-06 00:48:34.240470+00:00
SN-C3 long_g 2017-12-06 01:02:29.754272+00:00
SN-E2 short 2017-12-06 01:17:08.890253+00:00
SN-X3 long_z 2017-12-06 01:39:09.767128+00:00
SN-E1 short 2017-12-06 02:48:08.674162+00:00
SN-X3 long_r 2017-12-06 03:09:02.739232+00:00
SN-X3 long_i 2017-12-06 03:32:15.530528+00:00
SN-C2 short 2017-12-06 04:07:21.472570+00:00
SN-S1 short 2017-12-07 02:15:49.721806+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps