Project

General

Profile

12072013

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56634 (starting evening of Dec 7, 2013)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager Assistant Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Carlos Cunha Elisabeth Krause Marcelle Soares-Santos
ext. 512 ext. 515 ext. 516

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Manuel Hernandez Alberto Alvarez

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56634, date 20131207, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:12 CLST     UT 18:12     SidTim 18:36
Sunset     20:43 CLST  23:43 UT   SidTim    2 deg  
Eve. -10   21:24 CLST  00:24 UT   SidTim   12 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:47 CLST  00:47 UT   SidTim   18 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:10 CLST  01:10 UT   SidTim   24 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    00:43 CLST  03:43 UT   SidTim   62 deg  
Midpoint   01:35 CLST  04:35 UT   SidTim   75 deg  
Morn -18   04:59 CLST  07:59 UT   SidTim  126 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:23 CLST  08:23 UT   SidTim  132 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:46 CLST  08:46 UT   SidTim  138 deg  
Sunrise    06:26 CLST  09:26 UT   SidTim  148 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 327.3, Dec -7.2 Phase: 0.390

Weather Conditions

http://www.meteoblue.com/en_US/weather/forecast/week/observatorio-astronomico-cerro-tololo_cl_6503
http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. Start of night standards - preceed with zeros script: flush_Vsub.json
  3. Nightly out of focus image (right after last standard, no break) - script to use: defocus_nightly.json
  4. ObsTac
  5. End of night standards
  6. End of night calibrations - if start of night calibrations good use: postnight_calibration.json, otherwise use postnight_zeros_flats.json

Start of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2013/12/08 00:24' Local time = 21:24
E8-A ra 20:07:22 dec -44:37:01 secz 1.8 script to use: DES_std_e8a_Yzirgu.json
SDSSJ0320-0000 ra 03:20:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.5 script to use: DES_std_sdssj0320_Yzirgu.json
SDSSJ0100-0000 ra 01:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 script to use: DES_std_sdssj0100_Yzirgu.json

End of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2013/12/08 08:23' Local time = 05:23
SDSSJ1227-0000 ra 12:27:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 2.0 script to use: DES_std_sdssj1227_ugrizY.json
SDSSJ1048-0000 ra 10:48:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.3 script to use: DES_std_sdssj1048_ugrizY.json
SDSSJ0843-0000 ra 08:43:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 script to use: DES_std_sdssj0843_ugrizY.json

Notes from 4pm Meeting