Project

General

Profile

12062017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58094 (starting evening of Wednesday, Dec 6, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Rutuparna Das (Run manager)
  • Martín Monroy (Observer 1)
  • Andrew Pace (Observer 2)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Alberto Alvarez - Operator
  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58094, date 20171206, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:07 CLST     UT 18:07     SidTim 18:27
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:42 CLST  23:42 UT   00:03    1 deg  
Eve. -10   21:23 CLST  00:23 UT   00:43   11 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:46 CLST  00:46 UT   01:06   16 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:10 CLST  01:10 UT   01:30   22 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   23:47 CLST  02:47 UT   03:07   47 deg  
Midpoint   01:34 CLST  04:34 UT   04:55   74 deg  
Morn -18   04:59 CLST  07:59 UT   08:19  125 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:23 CLST  08:23 UT   08:43  131 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:45 CLST  08:45 UT   09:06  136 deg  
Sunrise    06:26 CLST  09:26 UT   09:47  147 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 127.7, Dec 18.7 Phase: 0.717

Weather Conditions

  • at 4pm: clear, windy

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: clear all night
  • humidity: ~ 45-50% (higher at start of night)
  • temp: ~ 12°C

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
  • ObsTac (1 SN field; wide-field - some gri if darktime left over after SN, then zY)
  • Low-z SN hng (6-7minutes before morning standards)
  • Morning standards (ugrizY)

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • Evening standards
UT Date = '2017/12/07 00:23'     Local time = 21:23
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Morning standards
UT Date = '2017/12/07 08:23'     Local time = 05:23
SDSSJ1227-0000        ra 12:27:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.3
SDSSJ0933-0005        ra 09:33:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 1.2

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name seqtype last_complete
SN-X1 short 2017-12-05 00:49:15.729079+00:00
SN-X2 short 2017-12-05 01:08:34.825867+00:00
SN-S2 short 2017-12-05 01:28:08.431443+00:00
SN-S1 short 2017-12-05 01:47:23.921883+00:00
SN-C3 long_r 2017-12-05 02:07:47.791203+00:00
SN-C3 long_i 2017-12-05 02:31:03.010364+00:00
SN-C3 long_z 2017-12-05 03:05:13.639283+00:00
SN-C1 short 2017-12-05 04:12:39.610821+00:00
SN-X3 long_g 2017-12-06 00:48:34.240470+00:00
SN-C3 long_g 2017-12-06 01:02:29.754272+00:00
SN-E2 short 2017-12-06 01:17:08.890253+00:00
SN-X3 long_z 2017-12-06 01:39:09.767128+00:00
SN-E1 short 2017-12-06 02:48:08.674162+00:00
SN-X3 long_r 2017-12-06 03:09:02.739232+00:00
SN-X3 long_i 2017-12-06 03:32:15.530528+00:00
SN-C2 short 2017-12-06 04:07:21.472570+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps