Project

General

Profile

12062013

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56633 (starting evening of Dec 6, 2013)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager Assistant Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Tim Abbott Elisabeth Krause Marcelle Soares-Santos
ext. 521 ext. 515 ext. 516

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Manuel Hernandez Alberto Alvarez

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56633, date 20131206, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:25 CLST     UT 18:25     SidTim 18:45
Sunset     20:42 CLST  23:42 UT   SidTim    1 deg  
Eve. -10   21:23 CLST  00:23 UT   SidTim   11 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:46 CLST  00:46 UT   SidTim   16 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:10 CLST  01:10 UT   SidTim   22 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    23:59 CLST  02:59 UT   SidTim   50 deg  
Midpoint   01:34 CLST  04:34 UT   SidTim   74 deg  
Morn -18   04:59 CLST  07:59 UT   SidTim  125 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:23 CLST  08:23 UT   SidTim  131 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:45 CLST  08:45 UT   SidTim  136 deg  
Sunrise    06:26 CLST  09:26 UT   SidTim  147 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 313.5, Dec -11.3 Phase: 0.317

Weather Conditions

http://www.meteoblue.com/en_US/weather/forecast/week/observatorio-astronomico-cerro-tololo_cl_6503
http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations - script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. Start of night standards - preceed with zeros script: flush_Vsub.json
  3. Nightly out of focus image (right after last standard, no break) - script to use: defocus_nightly.json
  4. ObsTac
  5. End of night standards
  6. End of night calibrations - if start of night calibrations good use: postnight_calibration.json, otherwise use postnight_zeros_flats.json

Start of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2013/12/06 00:23' Local time = 21:23
E8-A ra 20:07:22 dec -44:37:01 secz 1.7 script to use: DES_std_e8a_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ2140-0000 ra 21:40:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.7 script to use: DES_std_sdssj2140_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0100-0000 ra 01:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 script to use: DES_std_sdssj0100_Yzirg.json

End of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down
UT Date = '2013/12/06 08:23' Local time = 05:23
SDSSJ1227-0000 ra 12:27:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 2.0 script to use: DES_std_sdssj1227_grizY.json
SDSSJ1048-0000 ra 10:48:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.3 script to use: DES_std_sdssj1048_grizY.json
SDSSJ0843-0000 ra 08:43:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 script to use: DES_std_sdssj0843_grizY.json

Notes from 4pm Meeting