Project

General

Profile

12052018

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58458 (starting the evening of Dec 5, 2018)

DES has 3/4 night.

Observers

  • Larissa Markwardt (Observer 2)
  • Nikolay Kuropatkin (Run manager)
  • Martin Murphy (Observer 1)

CTIO Staff
  • Hernan Tirado, Rodrigo Hernandez, Alberto Alvarez (night assistant)
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

from kentools ephem

mjd 58458, date 20181205, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:13 CLST     UT 18:13     SidTim 18:28
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:41 CLST  23:41 UT   23:57  359 deg  
Eve. -10   21:22 CLST  00:22 UT   00:37    9 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:45 CLST  00:45 UT   01:00   15 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:08 CLST  01:08 UT   01:24   21 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:34 CLST  04:34 UT   04:49   72 deg  
Morn -18   04:59 CLST  07:59 UT   08:15  124 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:23 CLST  08:23 UT   08:38  130 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:45 CLST  08:45 UT   09:01  135 deg  
Moonrise   06:12 CLST  09:12 UT   09:28  142 deg  
Sunrise    06:26 CLST  09:26 UT   09:42  146 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 239.9, Dec -15.5 Phase: 0.088

Weather Conditions

  • At 16:00 some clouds on horizon, much warmer than yesterday 13 degrees, winds at 8 mph, humidity 38%
  • Tonight: Clear, 9 degrees, light breeze. Humidity ~50%.
  • Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES partial night.
  • Surrender observing to Scott Shepard for two hours starting at 02:33 UTC
  • Evening standards
    UT Date = '2018/12/06 00:22'     Local time = 21:22
    E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.7
    SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
    SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • Morning standards
    UT Date = '2018/12/06 08:23'     Local time = 05:23
    E2-A                  ra 04:03:00  dec -44:41:45  secz 1.7
    SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

Calibrations are underway. Telescope and camera are good.

For tonight:

  • OBSTAC
  • Surrender observing to Scott Shepard for two hours starting at 02:33 UTC
  • Resume OBSTAC
  • If seeing is bad (Bad means if the psf is > 1.6 arcsec for several exposures in a row with no sign of improvement) complete Photosweep, then Narrowband (details below):

Photosweep
----------
If you have "Bad Seeing" and photometric and not worse than 2.0", do
Photosweep. Instructions can be found here:

https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/Y6_global_photometry_program

Do not bother with this program if clouds are visible on Rasicam or if
seeing is highly variable, for the varying aperture corrections make
it difficult to get to mmag accuracy.

One needs to run a script at CTIO to generate the jsons (see the
instructions wiki page). Having done that the Photosweep scripts can
be found in
/usr/remote/user/DECamObserver/ExposureScripts/DES_scripts
with names like: photosweep20180914-2200Z.json

Select the one with timestamp closest to the next top of hour, now in
UT (we got the z added). Do not bother with this is there's < 30
minutes left in the night. A script probably takes an hour.

Narrowband
----------

If "Bad Seeing" and not photometric, or if "Bad Seeing" and everything
else if done, then do Narrowband. Instructions and a description can be found here:

https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/Narrowband_SN_imaging_program

Narrowband scripts are in the same directory as Photosweep, and have names like SN-C3X-N964.json

They are on the SN fields, so select the field that is closest to transit. Transit time for SN fields can be found on this page:

http://des-ops.fnal.gov:8080/prednight/

These are expected to be about an hour long. If the clouds are only moderate, we could do these.

Priorities (highest to lowest)

Other Notes