Project

General

Profile

12052017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58093 (starting evening of Tuesday, Dec 5, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Rutuparna Das (Run manager)
  • Andrew Pace (Observer 1)
  • Martín Monroy (Observer 2)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Alberto Alvarez - Operator
  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58093, date 20171205, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:03 CLST     UT 18:03     SidTim 18:20
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:42 CLST  23:42 UT   23:58  360 deg  
Eve. -10   21:22 CLST  00:22 UT   00:39   10 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:45 CLST  00:45 UT   01:01   15 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:09 CLST  01:09 UT   01:25   21 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   22:50 CLST  01:50 UT   02:07   32 deg  
Midpoint   01:34 CLST  04:34 UT   04:50   72 deg  
Morn -18   04:59 CLST  07:59 UT   08:15  124 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:23 CLST  08:23 UT   08:39  130 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:45 CLST  08:45 UT   09:02  136 deg  
Sunrise    06:26 CLST  09:26 UT   09:43  146 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 112.0, Dec 20.4 Phase: 0.797

Weather Conditions

  • at 4pm: clear, windy

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: clear all night
  • humidity: ~ 45-50%
  • temp: ~ 11°C

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
  • ObsTac (some SN, then wide-field Y or Y&z)
  • AT2017imw (5-7 minutes before morning standards)
  • Morning standards (ugrizY)

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • Evening standards
UT Date = '2017/12/06 00:22'     Local time = 21:22
E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.7
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Morning standards
UT Date = '2017/12/06 08:23'     Local time = 05:23
SDSSJ1227-0000        ra 12:27:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.1
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name seqtype last_complete
SN-X3 long_g 2017-11-25 02:07:30.239804+00:00
SN-C3 long_g 2017-11-27 05:23:42.663691+00:00
SN-X3 long_z 2017-11-28 01:09:04.691766+00:00
SN-E2 short 2017-11-28 02:37:53.248433+00:00
SN-E1 short 2017-11-29 01:07:48.446705+00:00
SN-C2 short 2017-11-29 01:29:06.169802+00:00
SN-X3 long_r 2017-11-29 02:29:23.653449+00:00
SN-X3 long_i 2017-11-29 02:52:34.155044+00:00
SN-X1 short 2017-12-05 00:49:15.729079+00:00
SN-X2 short 2017-12-05 01:08:34.825867+00:00
SN-S2 short 2017-12-05 01:28:08.431443+00:00
SN-S1 short 2017-12-05 01:47:23.921883+00:00
SN-C3 long_r 2017-12-05 02:07:47.791203+00:00
SN-C3 long_i 2017-12-05 02:31:03.010364+00:00
SN-C3 long_z 2017-12-05 03:05:13.639283+00:00
SN-C1 short 2017-12-05 04:12:39.610821+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps