Project

General

Profile

12052014

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56997 (DD, starting evening of Dec 05, 2014)

Observers

  • Alex Drlica-Wagner (observer1)
  • Tom Diehl (observer2)
  • (Klaus Honscheid) (run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Rodrigo Hernandez
  • Alberto Alvarez

Almanac

mjd 56997, date 20141205, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 20:08 CLST     UT 23:08     SidTim 23:24
Sunset     20:41 CLST  23:41 UT   SidTim  359 deg  
Eve. -10   21:22 CLST  00:22 UT   SidTim    9 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:45 CLST  00:45 UT   SidTim   15 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:08 CLST  01:08 UT   SidTim   21 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:34 CLST  04:34 UT   SidTim   72 deg  
Morn -18   04:59 CLST  07:59 UT   SidTim  123 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:23 CLST  08:23 UT   SidTim  130 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:45 CLST  08:45 UT   SidTim  135 deg  
Sunrise    06:26 CLST  09:26 UT   SidTim  145 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 68.9, Dec 18.7 Phase: 0.971

Weather Conditions
Clear overhead, should be good.

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations
  2. Standards
    standards 00:22                   
    UT Date = '2014/12/06 00:22'     Local time = 21:22
    E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.7
    SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
    SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  3. Two TOO for David Gerdes
     So the first exposures could be taken as soon as twilight ends, and the last ones could be 
     taken up until around 05:00 UT = 02:00 local time. During this period the fields will be below 
     an airmass of 1.5. Exposures should be at least an hour apart; two hours or more is better. 
     Both objects are currently moving at 1.2"/hour.
    
     For 2012 VS113:  2:35:15.39, -5:28:15.2
    
     For 2013 QO95:   2:21:13.97, -3:49:49.0
    
    
  4. ObsTac - special case SN deadman not allowed. SN bad seeing allowed.
  5. End of night standards
    standards 08:23
    UT Date = '2014/12/06 08:23'     Local time = 05:23
    E2-A                  ra 04:03:00  dec -44:41:45  secz 1.7
    SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  6. End of night calibration
    • if good afternoon calibrations use DECam/postnight_zeros.json
    • otherwise use DECam/postnight_zeros_flats.json