Project

General

Profile

12042017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58092 (starting evening of Monday, Dec 4, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Rutuparna Das (Run manager)
  • Andrew Pace (Observer 1)
  • Martín Monroy (Observer 2)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Alberto Alvarez - Operator
  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58092, date 20171204, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:21 CLST     UT 18:21     SidTim 18:34
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:41 CLST  23:41 UT   23:53  358 deg  
Eve. -10   21:21 CLST  00:21 UT   00:34    8 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:44 CLST  00:44 UT   00:57   14 deg  Begin obstac
Moonrise   21:48 CLST  00:48 UT   01:00   15 deg  
Eve. -18   22:08 CLST  01:08 UT   01:20   20 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:33 CLST  04:33 UT   04:46   72 deg  
Morn -18   04:59 CLST  07:59 UT   08:12  123 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:23 CLST  08:23 UT   08:35  129 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:45 CLST  08:45 UT   08:58  134 deg  
Sunrise    06:26 CLST  09:26 UT   09:39  145 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 95.7, Dec 20.7 Phase: 0.880

Weather Conditions

  • at 4pm: some clouds in the southeast, a few in the northeast - wind blowing from west (mostly)

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: clear all night
  • humidity: ~ 55%
  • temp: ~ 10°C

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
  • ObsTac (some SN, then wide-field Y or Y&z)
  • Low-z SN AT2017hpa (5-7 minutes before morning standards)
  • Morning standards (ugrizY)

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • Evening standards
UT Date = '2017/12/05 00:21'     Local time = 21:21
E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.7
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Morning standards
UT Date = '2017/12/05 08:23'     Local time = 05:23
E2-A                  ra 04:03:00  dec -44:41:45  secz 1.7
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name seqtype last_complete
SN-X1 short 2017-11-25 01:28:52.786078+00:00
SN-X2 short 2017-11-25 01:48:11.664763+00:00
SN-X3 long_g 2017-11-25 02:07:30.239804+00:00
SN-S2 short 2017-11-25 04:09:50.758260+00:00
SN-S1 short 2017-11-25 04:29:12.114804+00:00
SN-C3 long_r 2017-11-25 04:49:50.830476+00:00
SN-C3 long_i 2017-11-25 05:13:06.373383+00:00
SN-C3 long_g 2017-11-27 05:23:42.663691+00:00
SN-C3 long_z 2017-11-27 05:36:51.654402+00:00
SN-C1 short 2017-11-27 07:11:37.019047+00:00
SN-X3 long_z 2017-11-28 01:09:04.691766+00:00
SN-E2 short 2017-11-28 02:37:53.248433+00:00
SN-E1 short 2017-11-29 01:07:48.446705+00:00
SN-C2 short 2017-11-29 01:29:06.169802+00:00
SN-X3 long_r 2017-11-29 02:29:23.653449+00:00
SN-X3 long_i 2017-11-29 02:52:34.155044+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps