Project

General

Profile

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57361 (starting evening of December 4th 2015)

DES (2012B-0001)

Observers

  • Kathy Romer (Observer 1)
  • Christopher Bonnett (Observer 2)
  • Antonella Palmese (Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs, Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - Operator
  • Rodrigo Hernandez - 4M Floater

Staff calendar

Specialists

  • Brian Nord - Mission specialist

Almanac

mjd 57361, date 20151204, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:48 CLST     UT 18:48     SidTim 18:59
Sunset     20:40 CLST  23:40 UT   SidTim  358 deg  
Eve. -10   21:21 CLST  00:21 UT   SidTim    8 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:43 CLST  00:43 UT   SidTim   14 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:07 CLST  01:07 UT   SidTim   20 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:33 CLST  04:33 UT   SidTim   71 deg  
Moonrise   03:01 CLST  06:01 UT   SidTim   93 deg  
Morn -18   04:59 CLST  07:59 UT   SidTim  122 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:23 CLST  08:23 UT   SidTim  128 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:45 CLST  08:45 UT   SidTim  134 deg  
Sunrise    06:26 CLST  09:26 UT   SidTim  144 deg  

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • evening standards (if clear) [Yzirg ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/12/05 00:21'     Local time = 21:21
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

  • Obstac.
  • morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]

UT Date = '2015/12/05 08:23'     Local time = 05:23
E2-A                  ra 04:03:00  dec -44:41:45  secz 1.7
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

Notes from the 4PM Meeting and Additional Comments.

Telescope: mirror is being cleaned this afternoon, then flats will be done.

Last night was better than the previous 2 nights, although it was cloudy at the end.
Observers reported some big slews throughout the night, but this is expected.

Forecast for tonight is great. No wind. No clouds. No SN is on deadman.

Notes from Observers

See "Night summary": http://des-ops.fnal.gov:8080/nightsum/nightsum-2015-12-04/nightsum.html

Notes on Analyses of Night's Data: