Project

General

Profile

12032013

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56630 (starting evening of Dec 3, 2013)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager Assistant Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Rutu Das Marcelle Soares-Santos Kevin Reil Lyndsay Old
ext. 521 ext. 518 ext. 513 or 630 338 9267 ext. 516

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Manuel Hernandez Claudio Aguilera

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56630, date 20131203, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 14:47 CLST     UT 17:47     SidTim 17:55
Sunset     20:40 CLST  23:40 UT   SidTim  357 deg  
Moonset    21:20 CLST  00:20 UT   SidTim    7 deg  
Eve. -10   21:20 CLST  00:20 UT   SidTim    7 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:43 CLST  00:43 UT   SidTim   13 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:07 CLST  01:07 UT   SidTim   19 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:33 CLST  04:33 UT   SidTim   70 deg  
Morn -18   04:59 CLST  07:59 UT   SidTim  122 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:23 CLST  08:23 UT   SidTim  128 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:45 CLST  08:45 UT   SidTim  134 deg  
Sunrise    06:26 CLST  09:26 UT   SidTim  144 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 268.2, Dec -18.6 Phase: 0.078

Weather Conditions

*Tololo Weather Links .

http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. Start of night standards (preceed with zeros script: script to use: flush_Vsub.json).
  3. Nightly out of focus image. script to use: defocus_nightly.json (right after last standard, no break)
  4. ObsTac.
  5. End of night standards.
  6. End of night calibrations. if start of night calibrations good use: postnight_calibration.json, otherwise use postnight_zeros_flats.json

Start of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down.
UT Date = '2013/12/04 00:20' Local time = 21:20
SDSSJ0320-0000 ra 03:20:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.6 script to use: DES_std_sdssj0320_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0000-0000 ra 00:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 script to use: DES_std_sdssj0000_Yzirg.json

End of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Check Wind screen down.
UT Date = '2013/12/04 08:23' Local time = 05:23
E2-A ra 04:03:00 dec -44:41:45 secz 1.7 script to use: DES_std_e2a_grizY.json
SDSSJ1048-0000 ra 10:48:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.4 script to use: DES_std_sdssj1048_grizY.json
SDSSJ0843-0000 ra 08:43:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 script to use: DES_std_sdssj0843_grizY.json

Notes from 4pm Meeting

-------------------------------
Kevin, Marcelle, Lyndsay, Eric, Tom, Douglas, Margaret, Michael
Alex, sounded like Peter Moore, Manual

Telescope and Camera (Marco + Manual)
-------------------------------------
Marco has been studying s30. The problem was determined to not be the video boards.
By isolating the electronics from the VIB, we know it is on the VIB or the path from
there to the CCD, or the CCD itself. More communications with Juan.
S30 Vreset is Ohmic and we don't know where the current is going.

Telescope is at the white spot. (Manual).

Last Night's Data
-----------------
PTC script in the afternoon. A few SN fields because the seeing median was 1.5".
Some WF data. DIMM was above 1" last night.

DESDM
-----
Michelle is finished with 11/30 and the DQ assessment will be ready soon.
12/1 is almost done. Processing of last night's data is underway.

Tonight
-------
Weather looks OK. Don't know about the seeing.
Don't expect any SN fields tonight.
Obstac will try tiling 3. Wants r-band.
If seeing is good riz. If bad then gY. Might try r-band due to recent Obstac update.