Project

General

Profile

12012018 » History » Version 4

Marty Murphy, 12/01/2018 02:08 PM

1 1 Marty Murphy
h1. 12012018
2 1 Marty Murphy
3 1 Marty Murphy
h2. Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58454 (starting the evening of Dec 1,  2018)
4 1 Marty Murphy
5 1 Marty Murphy
DES has the full night.
6 1 Marty Murphy
7 1 Marty Murphy
h3. Observers
8 1 Marty Murphy
9 1 Marty Murphy
* Larissa Markwardt (Observer 2)
10 1 Marty Murphy
* Nikolay Kuropatkin (Observer 1)
11 1 Marty Murphy
* Martin Murphy (Run Manager)
12 1 Marty Murphy
13 1 Marty Murphy
h3. CTIO Staff
14 1 Marty Murphy
15 1 Marty Murphy
* Manuel Hernandez, Alberto Alvarez (night assistant)
16 1 Marty Murphy
* "Staff calendar":http://www.ctio.noao.edu/cgi-bin/Calcium38.pl?Op=ShowIt&CalendarName=4m_Observing_Schedule
17 1 Marty Murphy
18 1 Marty Murphy
h3. Almanac
19 1 Marty Murphy
20 1 Marty Murphy
from kentools ephem
21 1 Marty Murphy
<pre>
22 2 Marty Murphy
mjd 58454, date 20181201, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
23 2 Marty Murphy
Current local time 17:00 CLST     UT 20:00     SidTim 19:59
24 2 Marty Murphy
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
25 2 Marty Murphy
Sunset     20:38 CLST  23:38 UT   23:38  354 deg  
26 2 Marty Murphy
Eve. -10   21:18 CLST  00:18 UT   00:18    4 deg  Zeropoint; standards
27 2 Marty Murphy
Eve. -14   21:41 CLST  00:41 UT   00:41   10 deg  Begin obstac
28 2 Marty Murphy
Eve. -18   22:04 CLST  01:04 UT   01:04   16 deg  Last chance standards
29 2 Marty Murphy
Midpoint   01:32 CLST  04:32 UT   04:32   68 deg  
30 2 Marty Murphy
Moonrise   03:43 CLST  06:43 UT   06:43  101 deg  
31 2 Marty Murphy
Morn -18   05:00 CLST  08:00 UT   07:59  120 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
32 2 Marty Murphy
Morn -14   05:23 CLST  08:23 UT   08:23  126 deg  End obstac; begin standards
33 2 Marty Murphy
Morn -10   05:46 CLST  08:46 UT   08:46  132 deg  
34 2 Marty Murphy
Sunrise    06:26 CLST  09:26 UT   09:26  142 deg  
35 2 Marty Murphy
Moon position (deg): RA 189.8, Dec 1.8 Phase: 0.342
36 2 Marty Murphy
37 1 Marty Murphy
</pre>
38 1 Marty Murphy
39 1 Marty Murphy
40 1 Marty Murphy
h3. Weather Conditions
41 1 Marty Murphy
42 1 Marty Murphy
* Clear. Gentle breeze. 32% Humidity.
43 1 Marty Murphy
* Tonight: Clear. Humidity ~57% start of night, rising to ~61% by morning. No clouds.
44 1 Marty Murphy
* "Detailed hourly forecast":http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html | "Satellite maps":http://139.229.115.231/web/world_sat.php
45 1 Marty Murphy
46 1 Marty Murphy
h3. Observing Plan and Goals for the Night
47 1 Marty Murphy
48 1 Marty Murphy
* DES full night
49 1 Marty Murphy
* Evening standards
50 1 Marty Murphy
<pre>
51 2 Marty Murphy
UT Date = '2018/12/02 00:18'     Local time = 21:18
52 2 Marty Murphy
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
53 2 Marty Murphy
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
54 2 Marty Murphy
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
55 1 Marty Murphy
</pre>
56 1 Marty Murphy
* Morning standards
57 1 Marty Murphy
<pre>
58 2 Marty Murphy
UT Date = '2018/12/02 08:23'     Local time = 05:23
59 2 Marty Murphy
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
60 2 Marty Murphy
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
61 1 Marty Murphy
</pre>
62 1 Marty Murphy
63 1 Marty Murphy
h3. Useful links
64 1 Marty Murphy
65 1 Marty Murphy
"Nightsum":http://des-ops.fnal.gov:8080/nightsum/ | "CTIO Night Report":http://www.ctio.noao.edu/noao/node/add/night-report | "DECam Logbook":http://system1.ctio.noao.edu:8080/ECL/decam/E/index
66 1 Marty Murphy
"Tololo Environmental Web Page":http://139.229.115.231/web/tololo_frame.html | "Detailed hourly forecast":http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html | "Satellite maps":http://139.229.115.231/web/world_sat.php
67 1 Marty Murphy
68 1 Marty Murphy
h2. Notes from 4PM Meeting 
69 1 Marty Murphy
70 4 Marty Murphy
Manuel say calibrations were off to a late start due to a tour group on the deck.  Telescope and camera reports are good.
71 4 Marty Murphy
72 1 Marty Murphy
For tonight:
73 1 Marty Murphy
74 1 Marty Murphy
* OBSTAC
75 1 Marty Murphy
76 1 Marty Murphy
* C1, C2, & C3 reverberation mapping fields at 03:30 UT (00:30 local)
77 1 Marty Murphy
78 1 Marty Murphy
* [if seeing is bad*] do reverberation mapping
79 1 Marty Murphy
80 1 Marty Murphy
*This means if the psf is > 1.6 arcsec for several exposures in a row with no sign of improvement. Choose which script to use based on the SN field that is transiting at the time the seeing is bad. Use http://des-ops.fnal.gov:8080/prednight/ to decide which one.
81 1 Marty Murphy
82 1 Marty Murphy
If poor seeing persists after Reverberation Mapping then Photosweep, then Narrowband (details below):
83 1 Marty Murphy
84 1 Marty Murphy
Photosweep
85 1 Marty Murphy
----------
86 1 Marty Murphy
87 1 Marty Murphy
If you have "Bad Seeing" and photometric and not worse than 2.0", do
88 1 Marty Murphy
Photosweep. Instructions can be found here:
89 1 Marty Murphy
90 1 Marty Murphy
   https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/Y6_global_photometry_program
91 1 Marty Murphy
92 1 Marty Murphy
Do not bother with this program if clouds are visible on Rasicam or if
93 1 Marty Murphy
seeing is highly variable, for the varying aperture corrections make
94 1 Marty Murphy
it difficult to get to mmag accuracy.
95 1 Marty Murphy
96 1 Marty Murphy
One needs to run a script at CTIO to generate the jsons (see the
97 1 Marty Murphy
instructions wiki page). Having done that the Photosweep scripts can
98 1 Marty Murphy
be found in
99 1 Marty Murphy
  /usr/remote/user/DECamObserver/ExposureScripts/DES_scripts
100 1 Marty Murphy
with names like: photosweep20180914-2200Z.json
101 1 Marty Murphy
102 1 Marty Murphy
Select the one with timestamp closest to the next top of hour, now in
103 1 Marty Murphy
UT (we got the z added).  Do not bother with this is there's < 30
104 1 Marty Murphy
minutes left in the night.  A script probably takes an hour.
105 1 Marty Murphy
106 1 Marty Murphy
Narrowband
107 1 Marty Murphy
----------
108 1 Marty Murphy
109 1 Marty Murphy
If "Bad Seeing" and not photometric, or if "Bad Seeing" and everything
110 1 Marty Murphy
else if done, then do Narrowband. Instructions and a description can be found here:
111 1 Marty Murphy
112 1 Marty Murphy
   https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/Narrowband_SN_imaging_program
113 1 Marty Murphy
114 1 Marty Murphy
Narrowband scripts are in the same directory as Photosweep, and have names like SN-C3X-N964.json
115 1 Marty Murphy
116 1 Marty Murphy
They are on the SN fields, so select the field that is closest to transit. Transit time for SN fields can be found on this page:
117 1 Marty Murphy
118 1 Marty Murphy
   http://des-ops.fnal.gov:8080/prednight/ 
119 1 Marty Murphy
120 1 Marty Murphy
These are expected to be about an hour long. If the clouds are only moderate, we could do these.  Again, Obstac if seeing isn't bad, and waiting on reverb mapping fields to near transit.
121 1 Marty Murphy
122 1 Marty Murphy
h2. Priorities (highest to lowest)
123 1 Marty Murphy
124 1 Marty Murphy
h2. Other Notes