Project

General

Profile

12012013

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56628 (starting evening of Dec 1, 2013)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Rutu Das Lyndsay Old Kevin Reil
ext. 521 ext. 516 ext. 513 or 630 338 9267

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Hernan Tirado Claudio Aguilera

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56628, date 20131201, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 19:41 CLST     UT 22:41     SidTim 22:41
Sunset     20:38 CLST  23:38 UT   SidTim  355 deg  
Eve. -10   21:19 CLST  00:19 UT   SidTim    5 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:41 CLST  00:41 UT   SidTim   10 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:05 CLST  01:05 UT   SidTim   16 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:32 CLST  04:32 UT   SidTim   68 deg  
Morn -18   05:00 CLST  08:00 UT   SidTim  120 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:23 CLST  08:23 UT   SidTim  126 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:46 CLST  08:46 UT   SidTim  132 deg  
Moonrise   06:14 CLST  09:14 UT   SidTim  139 deg  
Sunrise    06:26 CLST  09:26 UT   SidTim  142 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 237.2, Dec -17.3 Phase: 0.083

Weather Conditions

*Tololo Weather Links .

http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Clear at 19:30 CLST

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. Start of night standards (preceed with zeros script).
  3. Nightly out of focus image. script to use: defocus_nightly.json (right after last standard, no break)
  4. ObsTac.
  5. End of night standards.
  6. End of night calibrations. if start of night calibrations good use: postnight_calibration.json, otherwise use postnight_zeros_flats.json

Start of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down.
UT Date = '2013/12/01 00:18' Local time = 21:18
SDSSJ0320-0000 ra 03:20:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.6 script to use: DES_std_sdssj0320_Yzirg
SDSSJ0000-0000 ra 00:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 script to use: DES_std_sdssj0000_Yzirg
nightly_defocus.json

End of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Check Wind screen down.
UT Date = '2013/12/01 08:23' Local time = 05:23
SDSSJ1048-0000 ra 10:48:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.4 script to use: DES_std_sdssj1048_grizY
SDSSJ0843-0000 ra 08:43:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 script to use: DES_std_sdssj0843_grizY

Daytime work completed

  1. Hernan ran PTC_LLL.dlt_20130108.json located in DECamObserver/ExposureScripts as propid 2013A-9999
    1. Start 259005
    2. End 259186
  2. Afternoon calibrations