Project

General

Profile

11302018 » History » Version 4

« Previous - Version 4/5 (diff) - Next » - Current version
David Turner, 11/30/2018 01:21 PM


11302018

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58453 (starting the evening of Nov 30, 2018)

DES has the full night.

Observers

  • Reese Wilkinson (Observer 1)
  • Sunayana Bhargava (Observer 2)
  • David Turner (Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez, Jacqueline Seron, Claudio Aguilera (night assistant)
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

from kentools ephem

mjd 58453, date 20181130, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:33 CLST     UT 18:33     SidTim 18:29
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:37 CLST  23:37 UT   23:33  353 deg  
Eve. -10   21:17 CLST  00:17 UT   00:13    3 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:40 CLST  00:40 UT   00:36    9 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:03 CLST  01:03 UT   00:59   15 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:32 CLST  04:32 UT   04:28   67 deg  
Moonrise   03:06 CLST  06:06 UT   06:02   90 deg  
Morn -18   05:00 CLST  08:00 UT   07:56  119 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:23 CLST  08:23 UT   08:19  125 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:46 CLST  08:46 UT   08:42  130 deg  
Sunrise    06:26 CLST  09:26 UT   09:22  140 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 177.1, Dec 6.7 Phase: 0.406

Weather Conditions

  • Clear. Gentle breeze. 35% Humidity. Medium cloud on the horizon.
  • Tonight: Clear. Humidity ~57% start of night, rising to ~61% by morning. No clouds.
  • Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES full night
  • Evening standards
    UT Date = '2018/12/01 00:17'     Local time = 21:17
    SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
    SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
    SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
    
  • Morning standards
    UT Date = '2018/12/01 08:23'     Local time = 05:23
    SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 1.3
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
    

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

For tonight:

  • OBSTAC
  • S1, S2 reverberation mapping fields at 03:30 UT (00:30 local)
  • [if seeing is bad*] do reverberation mapping

*This means if the psf is > 1.6 arcsec for several exposures in a row with no sign of improvement. Choose which script to use based on the SN field that is transiting at the time the seeing is bad. Use http://des-ops.fnal.gov:8080/prednight/ to decide which one.

Priorities (highest to lowest)

Other Notes