Project

General

Profile

11292018

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58452 (starting the evening of Nov 29, 2018)

DES has the full night.

Observers

  • Sunayana Bhargava (Run Manager)
  • Reese Wilkinson (Observer 2)
  • David Turner (Observer 1)

CTIO Staff

Almanac

from kentools ephem

mjd 58452, date 20181129, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 16:46 CLST     UT 19:46     SidTim 19:38
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:37 CLST  23:37 UT   23:29  352 deg  
Eve. -10   21:17 CLST  00:17 UT   00:09    2 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:39 CLST  00:39 UT   00:31    8 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:02 CLST  01:02 UT   00:54   14 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:31 CLST  04:31 UT   04:23   66 deg  
Moonrise   02:27 CLST  05:27 UT   05:19   80 deg  
Morn -18   05:00 CLST  08:00 UT   07:52  118 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:24 CLST  08:24 UT   08:16  124 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:46 CLST  08:46 UT   08:38  130 deg  
Sunrise    06:26 CLST  09:26 UT   09:18  140 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 163.9, Dec 11.4 Phase: 0.473

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES full night
  • Evening standards
    UT Date = '2018/11/30 00:17'     Local time = 21:17
    SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
    SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
    SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • Morning standards
    UT Date = '2018/11/30 08:24'     Local time = 05:24
    C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 2.1
    E2-A                  ra 04:03:00  dec -44:41:45  secz 1.6
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

  • #TooBadForKevin

For tonight:

  • OBSTAC all night
  • [if seeing is bad*] do reverberation mapping

*This means if the psf is > 1.6 arcsec for several exposures in a row with no sign of improvement. Choose which script to use based on the SN field that is transiting at the time the seeing is bad. Use http://des-ops.fnal.gov:8080/prednight/ to decide which one.

Priorities (highest to lowest)

  • reverberation mapping programme

Other Notes