Project

General

Profile

11292014

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56991 (starting evening of Nov 29, 2014)

Observers

  • Nikolay Kuropatkin (observer1)
  • Chris Smith (observer2)
  • Lucy Clerkin (run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Rodrigo Hernandez
  • Claudio Aguilera

Almanac

mjd 56991, date 20141129, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 14:13 CLST     UT 17:13     SidTim 17:05
Sunset     20:37 CLST  23:37 UT   SidTim  352 deg  
Eve. -10   21:17 CLST  00:17 UT   SidTim    2 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:39 CLST  00:39 UT   SidTim    8 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:02 CLST  01:02 UT   SidTim   14 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:31 CLST  04:31 UT   SidTim   66 deg  
Moonset    02:24 CLST  05:24 UT   SidTim   79 deg  
Morn -18   05:00 CLST  08:00 UT   SidTim  118 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:24 CLST  08:24 UT   SidTim  124 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:46 CLST  08:46 UT   SidTim  130 deg  
Sunrise    06:26 CLST  09:26 UT   SidTim  140 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 347.0, Dec -1.9 Phase: 0.551

Weather Conditions

Complete cloud cover

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations
  2. Standards
    UT Date = '2014/11/30 00:17'     Local time = 21:17
    SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
    SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
    SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  3. ObsTac
  4. End of night standards
    UT Date = '2014/11/30 08:24'     Local time = 05:24
    C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 2.1
    SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  5. End of night calibration
    • if good afternoon calibrations use DECam/postnight_zeros.json
    • otherwise use DECam/postnight_zeros_flats.json