Project

General

Profile

11282018

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58451 (starting the evening of Nov 28, 2018)

DES has the full night.

Observers

  • Sunayana Bhargava (Observer 1)
  • Reese Wilkinson (Run Manager)
  • David Turner (Observer 2)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez, Jacqueline Seron, Claudio Aguilera (night assistant)
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

from kentools ephem

mjd 58451, date 20181128, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:39 CLST     UT 18:39     SidTim 18:27
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:36 CLST  23:36 UT   23:24  351 deg  
Eve. -10   21:16 CLST  00:16 UT   00:04    1 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:38 CLST  00:38 UT   00:26    6 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:01 CLST  01:01 UT   00:49   12 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:31 CLST  04:31 UT   04:19   65 deg  
Moonrise   01:45 CLST  04:45 UT   04:33   68 deg  
Morn -18   05:00 CLST  08:00 UT   07:49  117 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:24 CLST  08:24 UT   08:12  123 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:46 CLST  08:46 UT   08:34  128 deg  
Sunrise    06:26 CLST  09:26 UT   09:14  138 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 150.1, Dec 15.6 Phase: 0.544

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES full night
  • Evening standards
    UT Date = '2018/11/29 00:16'     Local time = 21:16
    SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
    SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • Morning standards
    UT Date = '2018/11/29 08:24'     Local time = 05:24
    C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 2.0
    E2-A                  ra 04:03:00  dec -44:41:45  secz 1.6
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

  • #TooBadForKevin

For tonight:

  • OBSTAC
  • X1 X2 X3 reverb at 3:30UT
  • [if seeing is bad*] do reverberation mapping

*This means if the psf is > 1.6 arcsec for several exposures in a row with no sign of improvement. Choose which script to use based on the SN field that is transiting at the time the seeing is bad. Use http://des-ops.fnal.gov:8080/prednight/ to decide which one.

Priorities (highest to lowest)

  • OBSTAC bar(X1,X2,X3 @ 3:30UT)
  • reverberation mapping programme

Other Notes